Re-purchasing old adventures in new formats

image

infographic from: http://digitalmediadiet.com/?p=280

I am an avid reader of books and manga in both print and digital formats. Now I am mixed on if I am going to re-purchase a book or manga in a digital format when I already own the printed format. In my case, it depends on many different factors. However, some of these factors can be summed up in some basic “rules of thumb”. These “rules of thumb” help me determine when and if I will consider re-purchasing a book or manga that I already bought in a printed format in a digital format as well.

Basically, my “rules of thumb” are:

    If I loved the book or manga and it is on sale and I want to re-read it wherever I go, then I will re-purchase in a digital format.

    If I liked the book or manga, but do not feel the need to re-read it wherever I go, then I wait for a sale before I decide to re-purchases.

    If I thought the book or manga was Ok and did not keep the print version, then I wait for it to be free or DEEPLY discounted, otherwise I will not re-purchase it at all.

Now new books or manga do not get this debate. Here is my rule of thumb for deciding to purchase the print version, the digital version or both.

    If a new author and I am interested in the story, then I see what the price is and purchase the lower priced version!

    If it is a new story by an author I have read before, but do not collect their print versions, then I will wait for the price to be discounted, for a book paperback price, for a manga a sale price, before purchasing.

    If it is a new story by an author I have read before and I collect their print versions, then I will more likely purchase both the print and the digital versions, but usually not at the same time.

So as I said before I am mixed when it comes to purchasing or re-purchasing books or manga in print or digital formats.

What is your opinion?

Tags: , , ,

About Patty Hammond

I am a self proclaimed fangirl who is disguised as a mild mannered data analyst for an advertising firm. You can find me on Twitter as @pattybones2

One response to “Re-purchasing old adventures in new formats”

  1. rinellegrey says :

    I have to admit, ebooks have completely won me over. I just don’t even buy print books anymore. This could be partially due to living in Australia, where I have to wait weeks for a print book to arrive though!

Leave a Reply

