Future adventures: goals

I was asked twice today from two different sources this question: What are your goals over the next five years?

I could not give them an answer to this question without extensive thought. I ended up saying that I have learned to focus my effort on short term goals. The reason for this is because of all the changes that have been happening over the LAST five years that no plans could have predicted or prepare for. For instance, Who would have thought that 2 of the 3 Domestic Automotive companies would declare bankruptcy?
This means that I do not see the advantage of looking five years down the road and seeing myself in some sort of role or another. However, I DO believe in setting easier to manage, short term goals like daily, weekly or monthly goals. I hope that these goals will help me grow over the next five years no matter what happens. Therefore, I can answer the question about goals above in the following way: What are my daily, weekly and monthly goals that will increase my personal growth over the next five years?

I still have to define what these short term goals are. My plan is to I will create these goals and use this blog as a platform to share my adventures on how these goals are helping my growth over time.
I do have one of these short term goals defined and it is to update this blog and share some of my short my daily adventures. Hopefully, this will not only help me get to my long term goal, but will help you as you go through your daily adventures.

“A person should set his goals as early as he can and devote all his energy and talent to getting there. With enough effort, he may achieve it. Or he may find something that is even more rewarding. But in the end, no matter what the outcome, he will know he has been alive.” –Walt Disney
from: http://dailydisneyquotes.tumblr.com/

20130314-221944.jpg

Tags: , ,

About pattybones2

I am a self proclaimed fangirl who is disguised as a mild mannered data analyst for an advertising firm.

Leave a Reply

