Lost in Translation.

This blog article compliments my “Lost In Translation” series of blog articles that compares an original North American novel written in English with the manga version of the novel translated back to English. This blog article discusses some of the issues with translation from a different point of view than mine. Some very interesting information on the translation process and how it is not as easy as picking up a dictionary.

Zen Scribbles

No, I’m not talking about the movie; I just thought it was high time I talked about my field of expertise. What brought this up now? An excellent translation of a German novel that made me wonder whether I would’ve enjoyed the story as much if I’d read it in its main language, and a translation of a Swedish novel that is supposedly hilarious but has so far failed to make me crack a smile.

Back in university, the one thing professors often drilled into us was that translators are mirrors. A good translator would create a perfect reflection of the source text in a different language, while a bad translator might just as well be doodling all over the mirror with a black felt-tip pen. I may not have much experience under my belt, but I do recognize a bad mirror when I see one.

View original post 386 more words

Tags: , ,

About pattybones2

I am a self proclaimed fangirl who is disguised as a mild mannered data analyst for an advertising firm.

One response to “Lost in Translation.”

  1. Zen A. says :

    Thank you for reblogging, Patty! 🙂

Leave a Reply

