#AtoZChallenge Babylon 5 Re-Watch – Observations

20130401-212736.jpg
A to Z Blog Challenge Topic: Babylon 5 Re-Watch – Observations

Recently, my husband and I started re-watching the sci-fi TV Show Babylon 5 that we acquired on DVD. We have completed re-watching Season 1 and have continued on to Season 2. While re-watching these episodes, my husband and I have observed some connections with another fandom.

Now, I realize that those in the “know” may believe that I must be talking about either Star Trek, which it has been compared quite extensively, or Star Wars, which I mention on this blog quite frequently. However, the comparison we made was to a series of books by Lois McMaster Bujold, The Vorkosigan Saga, which I mentioned in one of my earlier blog posts. This is fitting since J. Michael Straczynski, the creator of Babylon 5, has stated many times that it was created to be a “Novel for Television”.

A few of the connections we observed between Babylon 5 and The Vorkosigan Saga, while re-watching season 1 and part of season 2 are:

*Babylon 5 and The Vorkosigan Saga are not only part of the sci-fi genre, but are military space operas.

*The Centauri and The Barryarian people are both ruled by an emperor.

*The Centauri Great Houses and the Barryarian Vor Clans have a similar place and role in their respective cultures.

*The Narn and The Barryarian people suffered occupation by off-world planetary governments and then chased these occupying governments off after a long period of time.

*The unknown nature of The Vorlons is similar to the unknown nature of The Cetigandian Haut, especially in the use of a technology to limit contact.

We are not sure if the creator of Babylon 5 read these series novels or was influenced in any way by Bujold’s Vorkosigan Saga in any way. However, As stated above, these are just some of the connections we observed so far. We are not sure if we will observe any more connections as we continue the re-watch the rest of the Babylon 5 seasons.

Tags: , , ,

About pattybones2

I am a self proclaimed fangirl who is disguised as a mild mannered data analyst for an advertising firm.

3 responses to “#AtoZChallenge Babylon 5 Re-Watch – Observations”

  1. Willa Blair says :

    Interesting comparison!

  2. R.K. says :

    Really? I haven’t read the Vorkosian Saga but I think I should now. I enjoy Babylon 5. I just finished a re-watch of seasons 1-3 recently.

Leave a Reply

