RIP: Roger Ebert

20130404-204503.jpg

I was so sad to hear about the passing of writer and film critic, Roger Ebert, today. He was a great film reviewer and writer. He was also a fellow fan of many of the same genres I liked including: anime, Star Wars and other sci-fi and fantasy franchises.

When Star Wars Episode I came out, many reviewers were very disappointed by what they saw, but not Roger Ebert, he found the good points and made sure that it was pointed out.

I loved this quote from the StarWars Episode I review that he wrote in 1999:

At the risk of offending devotees of the Force, I will say that the stories of the “Star Wars” movies have always been space operas, and that the importance of the movies comes from their energy, their sense of fun, their colorful inventions and their state-of-the-art special effects. I do not attend with the hope of gaining insights into human behavior. Unlike many movies, these are made to be looked at more than listened to, and George Lucas and his collaborators have filled “The Phantom Menace” with wonderful visuals.

He never offended this Star Wars fan with these comments and I think it is too bad he will NOT be around to review the next trilogy of Star Wars films!

Please know that my thoughts are with all his family and colleagues at this time. He will be missed by many for sure!

Tags: ,

About pattybones2

I am a self proclaimed fangirl who is disguised as a mild mannered data analyst for an advertising firm.

Leave a Reply

