Recent adventures: Once Upon A Time Season 1

Recent adventures: Once Upon A Time Season 1

20130801-212932.jpg

I just started watching the ABC fantasy drama Once Upon A Time. As a fan of both Disney and fantasy, you would think I would have started watching this when it first aired, but I did not. I finally decided to give this show a chance because many of my friends and my family rave about the show. Therefore, thanks to Netflix I recently started watching season one.

Here are my thoughts on the first season of this show without giving any spoilers:

Story

This is Fairy Tale Land. It’s filled with magic, monsters and all of the characters we all know from stories growing up. It’s real, and so are the people in it. But unlike the “happily ever after” you may have heard about, their stories continued, and The Evil Queen cast a Dark Curse over the land….

This is Storybrooke. It’s a quiet, little, New England town filled with people who go about their everyday lives with no idea who they really are. The Queen’s Curse has trapped them here and placed her in near-complete control. They have no real memories and no real hope.

Once Upon A Time is, at its core, a story about hope.

At first, I was not too happy with how the story switched from the “fantasy world” to “our world”. This switching made it harder to keep track of all the different characters and how they related to each other. However, as the series progressed, I became invested in the characters and how they relate to each other and the switches became less of a nuisance.

Characters

I have to say that based on the shows that I have seen so far, I love the characters and how they are portrayed. Almost all of the women in the show are strong, complex, great role models and from time-to-time even those that are ‘evil’ show a ‘good’ side, which adds another level of complexity. I think the writers have done a good job with the banter and interaction between the characters, especially between Emma Swan and Regina Mills (aka Evil Queen) pictured below:

20130801-215102.jpg20130801-215112.jpg

Settings and Costumes

20130801-221100.jpg

I love the fantasy settings and the costumes used throughout the series. The visuals are just amazing and are reminiscent of the settings use in The Lord of The Rings and Hobbit movies. The costumes for the characters, when they are portrayed in the fantasy world, appear to be extremely detailed and fit the imagery already established in the Disney animated features and other sources. I am slightly disappointed every time the setting switches back to the town of Storybrooke in “our world” and the characters are back into their “normal” everyday attire.

I will probably do a more through review once I finish watching more of this series. In the meantime, if you have not seen this series yet and want to find out more, then you should check out the official ABC Once Upon A Time website which features some really good 101 videos. You can also watch the first season on Netflix, like I am doing, or you can subscribe on iTunes.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About pattybones2

I am a self proclaimed fangirl who is disguised as a mild mannered data analyst for an advertising firm.

Leave a Reply

