Story of A Fangirl: My Mom

Story of A Fangirl: My Mom

Today, I wanted to tell you about my Mom, a fangirl who recently lost her battle with ovarian cancer. My Mom was a fangirl and an inspiration to me. She was one of the reasons that I was able to declare myself an everyday fangirl! She was a fangirl of many fandoms, some that were different from mine.  However, she made sure that she showed her love of the Fandoms every day!

Today, I am going to share with you some of the fandoms that My Mom loved that were different from me and how I tried to help share these fandoms with her.

Quilting

20130908-075752.jpg
My mother loved to quilt and she was so good that she won awards for her work. She even joined a local quilt guild to share her experiences with others. The quilt above is one she made to help raise money for the American Cancer Society. I helped support this fandom of hers by buying quilting materials, books and magazines whenever I could.

Detroit Tigers

20130908-075932.jpg

My Mom loved going to see the Detroit Tigers. She would watch them on TV and go to a few games every year. She was very proud of our home team even when they were not even close to a pennant race! I helped support this fandom of hers by going with her to a few games and by talking with her about the games and the players whenever I could.

Wizard of Oz

20130906-000032.jpg
Her favorite film. We watched it every Thanksgiving as a family when it aired on TV. She also collected lots of memorabilia related to this movie. I was able to help her continue adding to this collection after I reached adulthood.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About pattybones2

I am a self proclaimed fangirl who is disguised as a mild mannered data analyst for an advertising firm.

Leave a Reply

