Three new fandoms found in 2013

Over the last few years I have been hearing about several different fandoms that I had not seen yet. In 2013, I was able to watch several of these ‘new’ fandoms and I have to admit I am hooked, especially the three series mentioned below:

20140119-174315.jpg

I heard about this PBS/BBC series from several fangirls, who were cosplaying as Holmes and Watson from Sherlock, at a local con. They explained how the series was different from any of the versions that have been in existence so far, including the Sherlock Holmes movies with Robert Downey Jr. Based on their descriptions of the characters and a fan of the different versions of Sherlock Holmes, it was not a great feat to check these episodes out. In 2013, my husband and I started watching these through Netflix. Both the actors that play Holmes and Watson are very good and we could not wait to watch the next installment. Fortunately, we finished catching up with this series last night, just in time for the US premiere of season 3, scheduled for tonight on PBS.

20140119-174337.jpg
Because I am a lifelong Disney fan, many of my friends and family were surprised that I had not started watching this series as soon as it premiered, but I had not. Thanks to DVD, I was able to watch both seasons 1 and 2 before the premiere of season 3 in Fall 2013. It is a great series that takes a new twist on all the fairy tale characters from Disney and others. I cannot wait to see what happens next on season 3, after the Winter break.

20140119-174424.jpg
Even though the Doctor Who series has been around for over 50 years, this is one series that I was not exposed to until recently. I was introduced to this series at a panel that I attended at a local convention (different one from where I learned about Sherlock). The panel gave me a short introduction to the Doctor Who Universe and made me curious enough to seek the episodes out. However, since the series had so many episodes and Doctors, I had a hard time deciding where to start. Therefore, I needed some advise on where to start from someone who watches the series.

Fortunately, I asked fellow fangirl Ashley Eckstein via her Her Universe Twitter account about what would be the best place to start. She recommended starting with the 2005 Doctor Who series. This was a great recommendation and throughout 2013, I spent many evenings and sleepless nights watching Doctor Who. I was able to catch up on all the episodes from the 2005 series to the more recent series and was even able to watch the 50th Anniversary special, The Day of the Doctor, live with millions of other Whovians.

Tags: , , , , ,

About pattybones2

I am a self proclaimed fangirl who is disguised as a mild mannered data analyst for an advertising firm.

Leave a Reply

