#AtoZBlogChallenge: Earl Grey Tea

AtoZBlogChallenge Topic: Earl Grey Tea

20140404-222339.jpg

One of my favorite teas is Earl Grey. I was introduced it as a young adult with the phrase, “Tea, Earl Grey, Hot“, spoken by the character, Captain Jean-Luc Picard, on Star Trek: The Next Generation. Now a recent article from The Telegraph states that Earl Grey Tea has long term health benefits as well:

‘Tea. Earl Grey. Hot.’ Captain Jean-Luc Picard, the educated, sophisticated and diplomatic Starfleet Captain, knows a thing or two about perfect inter-galactic refreshment. Not only does the hero of Star Trek: The Next Generation prefer to drink this most delicately flavoured thirst-quencher in any galaxy. But now it emerges – with apologies to Picard’s old friends the Vulcans – that this bergamot infusion enables one to ‘live long [and prosper]’. For our current generation now learns that Earl Grey tea is more than just a pretty taste. The tea, served in smart households everywhere from Buckingham Palace, Downton Abbey, and even Nigella Lawson’s home (where it pops up in Earl Grey tea cakes), could also lower cholesterol levels and reduce the chance of heart disease, says new Italian research. Findings from the University of Calabria indicate that nutrients called HMGF (hydroxy methyl glutaryl flavonones), which are present in bergamot, worked just as well on the proteins which cause heart disease and ‘bad’ cholesterol as statins.

I am glad that one of my favorite fandoms not only introduced me to a great tasting tea, but one that is good for my health as well! Unfortunately, I cannot use a replicator to order a my favorite cup of Earl Grey tea, but I can order one of the versions shown below:

Officially Licensed, Star Trek, can of loose Earl Grey tea from Thinkgeek.com

20140404-221334.jpg

 

Tazo Earl Grey Tea filter bag from my local coffee shop.

20140404-220204.jpg

 

 

20140404-222503.jpg

Tags: , , ,

About pattybones2

I am a self proclaimed fangirl who is disguised as a mild mannered data analyst for an advertising firm.

3 responses to “#AtoZBlogChallenge: Earl Grey Tea”

  1. Silvia Writes says :

    Can’t say I drink much tea (mostly a coffee person) but Earl Gray is the one. Image here makes me want to make some tea right now. 🙂
    Silvia @
    SilviaWrites

  2. Kelsey says :

    We’re different kinds of Fangirl, except for tea – I’m all over tea! But Fangirls are fangirls we a team!x

  3. Mars says :

    I love Earl Grey, it was mentioned on my H post today, as an aside – I didn’t actually realise that it had a cool link with Picard, now I’m cool and not just quaint lol!

    Mars
    Curling Stones for Lego People

Leave a Reply

