#AtoZBlogChallenge: Wicked Witch

#AtoZBlogChallenge Topic: Wicked Witch

20140426-095437.jpg

The second half of the third season of Once Upon A Time features a storyline with the Wicked Witch! Every time this character is featured I think about my Mother, who passed away last year. For as long as I can remember, she loved this ‘evil’ character!

It may have started out as a teasing joke between herself and her brothers, when they were younger. However, this character became a love of hers for many reasons.

It was a tradition every Thanksgiving to watch the Wizard of Oz on TV and she would always comment on what aspects of the character she liked. Also, my Mother raved about the book and musical, Wicked, which gave more depth to this character than what was originally portrayed in the 1939 movie,

Some of the characteristics my Mother liked about the Wicked Witch were:

  • She was not afraid of anything, well except water.
  • She had a strong personality.
  • She was a strong leader of men and had a whole army at her command.
  • She was not concerned for her appearance.
  • She was someone who demanded respect.

20140426-095447.jpg

Therefore, it is a shame that she did not live to see this character come to life in the Once Upon A Time Series. I have not watched all the episodes that have aired so far because I am having a hard time watching these episodes without thinking of my Mother and her love of this character. However, I have saved these episodes on my DVR and plan to do a marathon of them around Mother’s Day in honor of her and the love she had for this character.

Tags: , , ,

About Patty Hammond

I am a self proclaimed fangirl who is disguised as a mild mannered data analyst for an advertising firm. You can find me on Twitter as @pattybones2

Leave a Reply

