Interview with Author ML Skye

It is my honor to interview ML Skye, who writes speculative romance with a sensual flair. She likes to explore the future and takes her characters to new and different planets, or sometimes leaves them stranded in the depths of space, so they can explore their connection under extraordinary circumstances.

Welcome to EverydayFangirl and thank you so much for taking the time answering the following questions:

1) What does the title, Surviving the Trap, signify?

This is a great question. Honestly, the title signifies two things, one being the more obvious ‘trap’ of a relationship or commitment. The other is what I actually based the idea of the novella on, after watching an episode of JAG. On an aircraft carrier, the mark cables on landing area are referred to as a trap and pilots need to hit it when they land. In this specific episode, a character had to do it over and over again to recreate a specific set of circumstances. I have no idea why that scene stuck with me, but it did, and almost ten years later, I built a story around a similar situation.

2) Does the names of the characters in your novel have some sort of significance or importance to you? If so, give a few examples…

I can’t say the names have either importance or significance, but they did pop into my head and wouldn’t go away. When that happens, I’m happy to go with it.

3) What prompted you to write in this genre and who or what inspired you to?

Watching science fiction with my dad inspired my love of the genre and it’s still going strong.

4) What are the most important attributes to remaining sane as a writer and does your characters reflect some of these attributes?

Honestly? I think letting my characters be a little insane, and giving them opportunities and challenges to work through, is what keeps me balanced.

5) What kind of research did you have to do for these novels that was different from other types of writing that you have done before?

I got to talk to my dad and uncle about being on aircraft carriers, which I hadn’t done before.

6) What makes you laugh?

Too many things to list, but I love ridiculous humor.

7) What makes you cry?

Happy and sad movies, books, songs. I love those moments that bring tears to my eyes.

Thank you again so much for stopping by!

Surviving the Trap, which will be available in a few weeks, is Book one of the Top Dog Pilots series.

20140518-232834-84514228.jpg

A week of hell pushes Maggie into risking her friendship with Max by sleeping with him.

One week of extreme training, two top guns, and a healthy dose of unresolved sexual tension equals two pilots pushed to their limits, looking for a way to get through the hellish experience and possibly into each other’s arms.

For more information about ML Skye visit one of the following:

Tags:

About pattybones2

I am a self proclaimed fangirl who is disguised as a mild mannered data analyst for an advertising firm.

2 responses to “Interview with Author ML Skye”

  1. winterbayne says :

    and now I know a new to me author. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

