Interview with Author Pauline B Jones

Today, it is my privilege to interview the author of GIRL GONE NOVA, Pauline B Jones.

Welcome to EveryDay Fangirl, Pauline, and thank you for taking the time to answer the following questions:

20140531-210212-75732565.jpg

1) What does the title of of GIRL GONE NOVA signify?

That Doc’s life isn’t going to just change, its explosive, galaxy altering change. It is high intensity change.

2) Does the names of the characters in your novel have some sort of significance or importance to you? If so, give a few examples…

Doc’s real name is Delilah Oliver Clementyne, so yeah, when they send her in, some butts are going to get kicked.

3) What prompted you to write in this genre and who or what inspired you to?

At first, I didn’t realize I was writing in “this” genre. I was writing romantic suspense, but found that my books were trending more toward action adventure and away from body counts and gore. I embraced a/a when I wrote OUT OF TIME, a time travel to WWII, and then got this idea for a pilot who crashes “somewhere” and finds this guy stranded there. But it didn’t work unless it was another planet. From that meeting grew my first BAB (big ass book), THE KEY. After it was released, someone called it space opera and science fiction romance. I went, right, okay, I meant to do that.

When I typed “the end” I truly thought I was done with my outer space action adventure, but I got requests for more in the “series.” I was, like, yeah, sure. Series? GIRL GONE NOVA, another BAB, was finished a year later. Eventually the series ended up as four novels, one novella and a short story collection, called PROJECT ENTERPRISE

I thought I’d finished it, but there are some characters from the series who aren’t done with me, so I’m trying to remember to never say “done.”

4) What are the most important attributes to remaining sane as a writer and does your characters reflect some of these attributes?

Sane as a writer? Isn’t that a contradiction in terms? I live and talk to people no one else can see. I’d suspect my sanity boat sailed with my first sentence. LOL

5) What kind of research did you have to do for these novels that was different from other types of writing that you have done before?

I did a lot of research on the air force, trying to figure out how launching into space would be the same and different. I also did some research into survival training. The time travel research was, oddly enough, much harder. There are a lot of theories of time and space and even time machines for sale, but none of them had been used…

I found this great resource on time travel on amazon, but apparently the Men in Black bought all the copies, because you can’t get one, even for big money….

Thank you again Pauline for stopping by!

You can learn more about Pauline and her stories by visiting her website, her Blog or any of the following social media outlets:

Pauline Baird Jones Facebook Fan page

Twitter: @paulinebjones

Google+: https://plus.google.com/u/0/117517921948256287348/posts

Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/perilouspauline/

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/247227.Pauline_Baird_Jones

If you would like to contact Pauline directly, she can be reached via email at pauline@paulinebjones.com.

Tags:

About Patty Hammond

I am a self proclaimed fangirl who is disguised as a mild mannered data analyst for an advertising firm. You can find me on Twitter as @pattybones2

Leave a Reply

