Fanfiction Pros & Cons from SFR Brigade Members

IMG_1036.JPG

Last month, I asked the members of the Science Fiction Romance Brigade to get their opinion on the following question:

What do you see are the pros and cons of Fanfiction as writers?

The members of the SFR Brigade are published or aspiring writers and editors and I received some interesting answers of this topic from this point of view. Today, I am sharing some of these opinions:

From Deborah A Bailey, author of Hathor Legacy: Outcast

I wrote Trek fanfic back in the day and I submitted stories to the Strange New Worlds contest. For me the pro was being able to workshop stories with other writers and get immediate feedback from readers. That helped me to improve as a writer as I went along.

One con was that when you write fanfic, the fans already know the characters. So even though you’re adding your own spin to the canon, they still may have strong ideas of how they expect those characters to behave. But that created a lot of discussion as well, so maybe it wasn’t really a bad thing.

From AR DeClerck, author of Between, A Keyholder Series Book

I believe anyone should be able to write anything they choose. If fanfic is the way that a person wants to express themselves then its great, and maybe they will gain the confidence to really put their own books out there at some point… Fanfic is a good way for budding writers to explore writing 🙂

From Corrina Lawson, Writer, Mom, Geek & Superhero

When I first started writing fiction again, it was because a site was having a fanfic round table and I thought it would be fun. It absolutely got me started writing original stories once more. I see no problem with it. It’s a compliment, though I’d never read any fanfic of my own stories for legal reasons.

From Rachel Leigh Smith, author of My Name is A’Yen, coming in September 2014

I learned how to put together a full story by writing fan fiction. Hardy Boys to be specific, and then I later dabbled in Thoroughbred. Fan fic took me from dreaming about being a writer to actually BEING a writer.

I’m not sure I’d have decided to join any writing organizations and invest money in conferences and learning how to write, if I hadn’t already discovered–through fan fic–how much I loved putting stories together.

From Greta Van der Rol, author of A Matter of Trust

I started with fan fiction. I learned how to craft a story – not very well, mind. But I got a taste without having to flesh out characters and settings because they already existed.

From C.E. Kilgore, Author of Ghost In The Machine

I started writing fanfiction back in high school. It was a good avenue for stretching my creative wings. Although there are certainly some questions on quality, I can’t fault a way in which people (usually young adults) are able to express themselves, explore their creative side and encourage writing and reading in others.

From Author Lyra Torres, who is still on her journey to publication:

I told fanfiction Nightmare on Elm Street stories with my friends. Mostly the people we hated would get killed in creative ways by Freddy Kreuger. It was extremely cathartic. We didn’t write any of it down but then we were about 10 and had to stay outside all day. It passed a lot of time. I’m showing my age now aren’t I?

From Melisse Aires, author of Starlander’s Myth

I wrote Buffy fanfic years ago and had so much fun. Also read quite a bit of Harry Potter fanfic. Some fanfic is very, very good. After a while you get good at spotting a bad one in a page or two. Calibre has a downloader to put epubs or mobi on your eareader. I’ll down loader twenty and delete as I go, keep the ones I want to read. But, no $ invested, unlike buying a new author.

And finally, a simple and heartfelt statement by author, Misa Buckley

I wouldn’t be as far on in my career without fanfiction. I might not even be published.

So, what do you see are the pros and cons of fanfiction?

Do you agree or disagree with these opinions?

IMG_1917.PNG image via here

Tags: , , , , , ,

About Patty Hammond

I am a self proclaimed fangirl who is disguised as a mild mannered data analyst for an advertising firm. You can find me on Twitter as @pattybones2

One response to “Fanfiction Pros & Cons from SFR Brigade Members”

  1. Kady says :

    I’ve been writing fanfic for years, in a variety of fandoms. Someday I would love to graduate to profic, but I still consider myself to be in the learning and growing stage, so I won’t be finished writing fanfic any time soon.

Leave a Reply

