#AtoZChallenge: Join me…

For Star Wars fans the phrase “Join Me” is used by both Darth Vader and Emperor Palpatine to entice Luke Skywalker to turn to the ‘Dark Side’ of the Force.  Today, I am using this phrase, not to entice you to the ‘Dark Side’, but to ask you to ask you to ‘join me’ in helping to raise awareness and funds for the fight against Multiple Sclerosis (MS).   Many of you may be wondering just what is MS? 

Multiple Sclerosis (MS) is an autoimmune disease that creates a neurological condition that affects the central nervous system (CNS). The CNS includes the brain, the spinal cord, and the optic nerves, and it’s surrounded by a fatty tissue called myelin that protects the nerve fibers and helps them conduct electrical impulses. MS is NOT fully understood and is a highly unpredictable disorder that can cause a variety of different symptoms, which for many, can flare-up and then subside over the course of days, months, or even years. There are four recognized types of multiple sclerosis, ranging from those that cause periodic relapses or “attacks” that subsequently ‘remit’ or go away to types that progressively worsen over time.

While MS is not contagious, its causes are not yet fully understood and researchers continue to search for answers daily.

Here are some Facts About MS that are known:

*Every hour, someone is newly diagnosed with MS.
*More than 2.5 million people worldwide live with this unpredictable disease.
*MS is the most common neurological disease leading to disability in young adults.
*Many Celebrities have MS including icons such as Annette Funicello, who passed away in 2013.
*Check out the latest statistics on MS here

My husband, Michael, suffers the relapsing remitting type of MS, which can cause a variety of symptoms that can flare-up and then subside over the course of days, months, or Even years. Some of the more common ones that he suffers from includes: *Fatigue *Difficulty in walking *Vision problems *Emotional changes *Problems with memory, attention, and problem-solving *Bladder/bowel dysfunction *Dizziness and vertigo *Numbness/pain.  I watch him every day struggle to have a normal life dispite what this disease is doing to him. 

I might not be able to snap my fingers or use The Force to help my husband or anyone else that suffers from this life changing disease.  However, I can help raise funds, promote awareness and encouraging others to learn more about this disease and those who suffer from it. 

Today, I have signed up again to participate in the Walk MS event in Frankenmuth, MI on May 9, 2015.  This event’s purpose is to help raise funds and promote awareness of this life changing disease.  Participating in this event is important to me because many people suffer, including my husband, symptoms of this disease on a daily basis! Therefore, I encourage you to ‘join me’ in this effort.  

20140422-223115.jpg

You can find out more information on my fundraising efforts here.

20130407-214118.jpg
My team and I at Walk MS event in 2012!
20140422-222802.jpg
My team and I at Walk MS event in 2013!

My team and I at Walk MS event in 2014!

Tom Kelly, a Twitter friend of mine, is also raising funds for MS. He is participating in the Bike MS event in his area. You can find out more about his efforts here!

I know that many of you might not be able to donate financially to either of our fundraising efforts.  However, you can ‘join me’ in spreading the word!  ‘Join me’ and together WE can make a difference!

20130407-214012.jpg

Any kind of help you can give would be greatly appreciated! 

Thanks and May The Force Be With You, Always! 
 

Tags: , , , , ,

About pattybones2

I am a self proclaimed fangirl who is disguised as a mild mannered data analyst for an advertising firm.

Leave a Reply

