Interview with a Fangirl: Pippa Jay

I am continuing my interviews with fangirls that I met through social media.

This time I am interviewing author and Fangirl Pippa Jay!

Welcome Pippa to The Adventures of the Everyday Fangirl and agreeing to answer these questions.

When did you begin to realize you were a Fangirl?

I guess the realization grew on me going into my teens. Most of my female friends were swooning over boy bands and going to concerts while I was collecting the toys and memorabilia, and going to SF signings and conventions.

When did you first see Star Wars and did you love it right away or did this grow over time?

I was eight years old and it was the first showing of Star Wars: A New Hope on TV for Christmas. And yes, it was love at first sight! I’d never even heard of it before then.

What have you learned from the Star Wars community that has had a positive impact on your life?

To be who I am and to love what I love, and not care what others think. And not to give in to the Dark Side. 😛

How has social media helped or hindered you?

Social media has helped me connect with fellow fangirls and share the love, but it’s also made me aware of a lot of the sexism, abuse and trolling aimed at female fans. That was quite a horrifying revelation to me because it wasn’t something I’d ever really encountered personally before. Not at UK cons anyway. But it also gave me the chance to link up with my fellow fangirls and be proud to be one. To have others to share my geekiness with, and to learn I wasn’t alone.

Thank you so much Pippa for answering these questions and sharing your thoughts with us.

Tags:

About pattybones2

I am a self proclaimed fangirl who is disguised as a mild mannered data analyst for an advertising firm.

One response to “Interview with a Fangirl: Pippa Jay”

  1. pippajay says :

    Thanks for having me – fun interview!

Leave a Reply

