Interview with Author K.G. Stutts

Today it is my honor to interview K.G. Stutts, author of Mirror Image and the rest of the Mirror Series.

Welcome to The Adventures of the Everyday Fangirl K.G. and thank you for letting us get to know you better by agreeing to answer the following questions!

Do the names of the characters in your novel have some sort of significance or importance to you? If so, give a few examples…

Some of the names have very special meaning for me. In my Mirror series, the name Madison Mackenzie was originally going to be my daughter’s name, if I ever had a baby. I’m getting older and the likelihood of having a child is still there, but growing slimmer. I wanted the name to live in something I consider my baby, my first book series. So Mack and Maddie got their names. Some of the character names are based on friends or family. Elizabeth is one of my nieces. Will is a childhood friend. I do like to give little nods to people of places from time to time.

What prompted you to write in this genre and who or what inspired you to?

I’ve always been a sci-fi fan. Growing up, my dad and brother would watch Battlestar Galactica, Star Trek, and Star Wars. I was enthralled by the dangerous locations, the aliens, the technology. I was hooked. My dad and I still have discussions about Stargate SG-1 and was really sad when it and Stargate Atlantis was cancelled. And the romance… I’m just a romantic at heart. I wear it on my sleeve.

What are the most important attributes to remaining sane as a writer and do your characters reflect some of these attributes?

Are writers sane? I haven’t quite figured that part out. Honestly, I get cranky if I go a while without writing. I am the marketing manager for my indie company so lately my focus has been on getting a new author released and setting up for a podcast I will be hosting for my company. It’s been two weeks since I’ve written, even though there are scenes in my head. I can feel it!

What kind of research did you have to do for the novel, series or set of stories that was different from others?

I do a lot of research depending on the story I’m writing. For my Amethyst Chronicles, it was different weaponry and fighting styles. For the Mirror series, it was biology and genetics. Sometimes it’s the area the story is taken place. I cannot stress the importance of research, even if you feel familiar with the subject matter. It adds depth and realness.

What makes you laugh?

I’m naturally very silly and friendly. Laughter is the key to a happy heart, in my opinion. I try to do it often.

What makes you cry?

Seeing a being being mistreated, either a person or an animal.

What are you a fan of and is this reflected in your writing?

I think a lot of me is reflected in my stories. I love to drop pop culture references for my many different fandoms (Doctor Who, Star Wars, Hunger Games, Buffy the Vampire Slayer, etc)

Thank you again K.G. for stopping by and letting us get to know you better!

 

Mirror Image published by Distinguished Press is available to right now for the low price of $0.99 on Amazon.com.

Madison Mackenzie Rhodes, Maddie for short, would call her life “comfortable.” She works in a call center, lives with her best friend of fifteen years, and spends most of her free time with her family. Her entire world is turned upside down when she finds out that she is a clone, created to hide the secret that we are not alone in this galaxy. Her counterpart, going by the nickname Mack, works for the Intergalactic Security Commission, which works with a coalition of other planets that protect each other and create technology. When an enemy rises from within the ISC that targets both Maddie and Mack, they must work together to save their lives as well as the planet.

K.G. Stutts is the author of several sci-fi romance series as well as several romance stories. She has a degree in massage therapy. As a contributor to Independent Writers Association (IWA) her insights can be seen regularly there and on her own blog at kgstutts.blogspot.com and her website at kgstutts.com.  When she’s not weaving words, she enjoys reading, playing RPGs, hockey, wrestling, and football, and is a big sci-fi nerd. Currently she resides in North Carolina, USA with her husband, Brad.

You can learn more about K.G. and about the rest of the Mirror series by following her on Twitter, liking her Facebook page, and by visiting her on either her blog or her website.

Tags:

About pattybones2

I am a self proclaimed fangirl who is disguised as a mild mannered data analyst for an advertising firm.

Leave a Reply

