Interview with an Author: Diane Burton

It is pleasure to welcome Diane Burton, author of several Science Fiction Romance series and now the author of a new series of mysteries with Femalel P.I., Alex O’Hara.


Welcome Diane to The Adventures of the Everyday Fangirl and thanks so much for taking the time out your busy schedule to help us get to know you and to learn more about this new series.

What does the title of this novel, series or set of stories signify?

The Case of the Bygone Brother signifies that this is a mystery, sort of like the old-timey P.I. mysteries of the 1940s, except this is modern day and the private investigator is female. The subtitle is An Alex O’Hara Novel and that indicates it’s (the first in) a series.

Do the names of the characters in your novel have some sort of significance or importance to you? If so, give a few examples…

The story takes place in a fictional resort town along Lake Michigan. Many of the early settlers in West Michigan came from The Netherlands. Today, Dutch names proliferate. Since some of my ancestors also came from The Netherlands, I used family names for many secondary and tertiary characters. The title character Harry Anslyn (the missing brother) is named after my great-great grandfather who fought in the American Civil War. I took the liberty of changing his first name from Louis to Harry.

What prompted you to write in this genre and who or what inspired you to?

This is my first mystery, but I departed from the usual dead body at the beginning. I love Janet Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum series. At times, while reading before sleep, I’ve laughed so hard the bed shakes. I’d love to do humor as well as Janet does.

What are the most important attributes to remaining sane as a writer and do your characters reflect some of these attributes?

Writers are supposed to be sane???
Number One is having a supportive spouse. He doesn’t mind that the furniture hasn’t been dusted since New Year’s Eve (we had company) and he’ll do laundry and make meals, especially when I’m buried in a story. I see Nick Palzetti (Alex’s teenage heartthrob who’s returned) being that supportive—if he and Alex ever get married.

What kind of research did you have to do for the novel, series or set of stories that was different from others?

I needed to know the qualifications for an investigator in Michigan. Google is the best. A friend of mine is a retired police chief who is always willing to let me pick his brain. Then he’ll give me enough info for the next three books, at least.

What makes you laugh?

Besides Stephanie Plum and Lula’s antics? Romantic comedies, witty dialogue and send-ups to old movies in current ones. Example: in Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows, Robert Downey, Jr. is riding a mule and the theme from Two Mules For Sister Sara starts playing. I think everyone in the theater stared at me when I cracked up.
My favorite laugh-makers are my grandchildren. Some of things they say. LOL The baby’s cooing makes me grin.

What makes you cry?

Emotional scenes in movies and books. In Linda Howard’s Cry No More and Kiss Me While I Sleep, two scenes had me sobbing. I’m a sucker for romantic movies with a BIG black moment. Hand me a tissue, please.

What are you a fan of and is this reflected in your writing?

Movies. I’ll use movie quotes (with appellations, of course) in my books. From my previous answers, you know I love Janet Evanovich and Linda Howard books. I also love Linnea Sinclair’s science fiction romance (which I also write).

Again, thank you Diane for answering these questions and helping us to become better acquainted with you and of course your new mystery series.


The Case of the Bygone Brother: An Alex O’Hara Novel by Diane Burton is now available at AmazoniTunesBarnes & NobleKobo or Smashwords

After taking over O’Hara & Palzetti, Confidential Investigations from her dad and his partner, Alex O’Hara’s bottom line has taken a plunge. So when a femme fatale offers her the case of a lifetime along with a huge advance, Alex sees her finances on a definite upswing. But someone doesn’t want her to find the long-lost brother. Complicating matters is the return of Alex’s old heartthrob, Nick Palzetti. Is he really there just to see her or does he have an ulterior motive? The Lake Michigan resort town of Fair Haven is abuzz with the news that O’Hara & Palzetti are together again.

For more info and excerpts from her books, visit Diane’s website: http://www.dianeburton.com

Connect with Diane Burton online through the following:

Blog: http://dianeburton.blogspot.com/
Twitter: http://twitter.com/dmburton72
Facebook: http://facebook.com/dianeburtonauthor
Goodreads: Diane Burton Author
Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/dmburton72/

Other Books by Diane Burton:
Switched Series
Switched
​Switched, Too
​Switched Resolution

Outer Rim Series
​The Pilot: An Outer Rim Novel
​The Chameleon: An Outer Rim Novel

​One Red Shoe
​How I Met My Husband (contributor)

Bio:

Diane Burton combines her love of mystery, adventure, science fiction and romance into writing romantic fiction. Besides the science fiction romance Switched and Outer Rim series, she is the author of One Red Shoe, a romantic suspense, and The Case of the Bygone Brother, a P.I. mystery. She is also a contributor to the anthology How I Met My Husband. Diane and her husband live in Michigan. They have two children and three grandchildren.

Tags:

About pattybones2

I am a self proclaimed fangirl who is disguised as a mild mannered data analyst for an advertising firm.

13 responses to “Interview with an Author: Diane Burton”

  1. Diane Burton says :

    Patty, thank you so much for having me on your blog and for showcasing THE CASE OF THE BYGONE BROTHER. i had a lot of fun answering your questions.

  2. darcyflynn says :

    Great interview, Diane. Best of luck with your latest release! Did I tell you I love your cover? 😊

  3. cbretes says :

    He Diane. Your answers to the questions asked has inspired me. Thanks so much! I always enjoy reading things about you.

  4. maureenbonatch says :

    Sounds like a great book! I love humor in writing as well.

  5. margohoornstra says :

    Yep, this one’s a keeper. The excerpts had me hooked. Great interview, Disne. I loved learning even more about you!

  6. Leah St. James says :

    Great interview, Diane! I’m going to have to re-read those Linda Howard books. I’m a sucker for the big black moment, too. And I also love Janet Evanovich’s writing. I have my copy of “Bygone Brother” and it’s next in my TBR pile. Can’t wait to get started on it!

    • Diane Burton says :

      Thanks, Leah. I wish I could write big black moments like Linda Howard. I tend to shy away and come up with a funny (inappropriate) comment.

  7. M.J. Schiller, Romance Author says :

    Enjoyed the interview! It didn’t have the same old questions, which made it interesting. Reading what makes you laugh and cry, Diane, made me think that you and I are on the same wave length! Thanks for sharing yourself with us!

    • Diane Burton says :

      Thanks, MJ. I loved Patty’s questions. You’re right, they aren’t the usual. I’m honored that you think we’re on the same wavelength. 🙂

Leave a Reply

