Interview with an Author: Veronica Scott

It is pleasure to welcome Veronia Scott, author the recently released science fiction romance, Star Cruise: Marooned.

 

Welcome Veronica to The Adventures of the Everyday Fangirl and thanks so much for taking the time out your busy schedule to help us get to know you.

Thanks for having me as your guest today!

What does the title of this novel, series or set of stories signify?

My most recent novel is Star Cruise: Marooned (A Sectors SF Romance). The Sectors is the futuristic galactic civilization where I set all my science fiction novels and has human and alien citizens. The “Star Cruise” in the title signifies this is going to be the first novel in a series I have planned, which will occur on an interstellar luxury liner. Of course I already wrote one novel set on such a spaceship, Wreck of the Nebula Dream, but since that was based on the Titanic sinking, the starship didn’t survive! So the new series will have a new ship.

Do the names of the characters in your novel have some sort of significance or importance to you?

I tend to pick names I like for my characters, so Meg and Red (whose real name is Simon) are ‘just’ names. I do have a secondary character in the book that’s named for an author friend of mine, which is fun. I don’t do that too often.

What prompted you to write in this genre and who or what inspired you to?

My father was a huge science fiction fan and so I started reading the books in his library at an early age. I especially loved Andre Norton and Anne McCaffrey, but I always thought there needed to be more romance in the books. In all the books!

What are the most important attributes to remaining sane as a writer and do your characters reflect some of these attributes?

I try to write every day and I focus on the fact that I’m telling the sort of stories I love to read. So I enjoy strong heroines and heroes who are very alpha – warriors and Special Forces soldiers of the future. Hopefully no one in my books is Too Stupid To Live (TSTL) because that will get you killed, in real life or in a lot of fiction. I don’t have patience for TSTL. Beyond telling the best story I can, I have to remember each reader has their own experience with my book and my characters, which is how it should be. I certainly hope everyone will enjoy the book, but once I’ve published, that’s the end of what I can do. And my stories may not be to everyone’s taste.

What kind of research did you have to do for the novel, series or set of stories that was different from others?

I’ve done a lot of research into cruise ships, the details and events surrounding the Titanic’s sinking (to get a feel for disaster aboard a cruise ship), how an aircraft carrier is run (because they’re huge and a good approximation of a military vessel in the far future I think). I looked into the cruise staff unions, job postings, public blogs by cruise employees….the kinds of things that can go wrong – and right! – on a cruise…research into the flora and fauna of a rainforest, because the planet in the novel features one, and then I let my imagination take over and I tell my own story.

What makes you laugh?

“Big Bang Theory” episodes, cats playing, little children

What makes you cry?

Sad endings. I HATE sad endings, which is why I write romances where there’s always a Happily Ever After.

What are you a fan of and is this reflected in your writing?

I’m a huge fan of science fiction and scifi romance, so I’d say yes, this is reflected in my writing! I also love epic fantasy – Jeffe Kennedy, Grace Draven for example – and paranormal romance – Nalini Singh is my top “must buy” author.

Again, thank you Veronica for answering these questions and helping us to become better acquainted with you!

Meg Antille works long hours on the charter cruise ship Far Horizon so she can send credits home to her family. Working hard to earn a promotion to a better post (and better pay), Meg has no time for romance.
Former Special Forces soldier Red Thomsill only took the berth on the Far Horizon in hopes of getting to know Meg better, but so far she’s kept him at a polite distance. A scheduled stopover on the idyllic beach of a nature preserve planet may be his last chance to impress the girl.
But when one of the passengers is attacked by a wild animal it becomes clear that conditions on the lushly forested Dantaralon aren’t as advertised – the ranger station is deserted, the defensive perimeter is down…and then the Far Horizon’s shuttle abruptly leaves without any of them.
Marooned on the dangerous outback world, romance is the least of their concerns, and yet Meg and Red cannot help being drawn to each other once they see how well they work together. But can they survive long enough to see their romance through? Or will the wild alien planet defeat them, ending their romance and their lives before anything can really begin?

Star Cruise: Marooned is available at:

Amazon
iBooks
Kobo
Barnes & Noble

Best Selling Science Fiction & Paranormal Romance author and “SciFi Encounters” columnist for the USA Today Happily Ever After blog, Veronica Scott grew up in a house with a library as its heart. Dad loved science fiction, Mom loved ancient history and Veronica thought there needed to be more romance in everything. When she ran out of books to read, she started writing her own stories.

Three time winner of the Galaxy Award, as well as a National Excellence in Romance Fiction Award, Veronica is also the proud recipient of a NASA Exceptional Service Medal relating to her former day job, not her romances!

You can connect with Veronica via Blog, Twitter or Facebook.

Tags:

About pattybones2

I am a self proclaimed fangirl who is disguised as a mild mannered data analyst for an advertising firm.

One response to “Interview with an Author: Veronica Scott”

  1. veronicascott says :

    Reblogged this on Veronica Scott and commented:
    Did a fun interview for Patty Hammond’s blog today!

Leave a Reply

