Interview with a Fangirl: Natacha Guyot


I am continuing with my series of interviews with Fangirls that I have met through social media!

Today, it is my pleasure to interview author,scholar and, of course, fangirl, Natacha Guyot. I met Natacha through the Star Wars fan community and I am looking forward to meet her in person, at Star Wars Celebration Europe next year.


Welcome Natacha to The Adventures of The Everyday Fangirl and thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to answer these questions!

When did you begin to realize you were a Fangirl?

We don’t have an equivalent for “fangirl” in French (or “fanboy” for that matter). We just say “fan”. I realized it, at least on a semi-conscious level, when I was a child in elementary school. I was a huge Star Wars fan even then and loved to recreate stories from the movies (and beyond) a lot, whether it was playing with friends or when on my own with my Barbie dolls. My first written story, even before I knew what fanfiction was, was a sequel to Return of the Jedi, that I wrote when I was eight or so.

How has social media helped or hindered you?

I am grateful for social media. It has allowed me to meet fellow fans across the globe. I have been introduced to vidding, fanfiction, fan art, roleplaying and more thanks to the Internet. While social media helps me a lot on a professional level, it doesn’t take anything away from my fannish enthusiasm that I can share on it too. I am lucky to write a lot about things I’m passionate about so my professional and fannish sides/circles can easily overlap one another.

When did you first see Star Wars and did you love it right away or did this grow on you over time?

The first thing I ever saw on TV was the Muppet Show episode with members of the Star Wars cast. I was 2 year old and already fell in love with it. I saw the original trilogy when I was 7 and from then on, it was a big passion in my life. I got my first book from the EU (Courtship of Princess Leia) when I was 9 and I had several Star Wars toys as a kid too. I still love my Millennium Falcon I got back then. Star Wars has had a significant influence on my desire to pursue media studies after high school, as well as on my writing altogether.

What have you learned from the Star Wars or other fan community that has had a positive impact on your life?

This question reminds me of something I recently posted on Facebook. No matter how the Internet can bring the worse out of people, it can also bring the best. I have met wonderful people online. Of course, there are problematic individuals and I have met my share. But thanks to passions (whether fannish or writing or both), I have made great friends in several countries. Without all of us being fans of the same thing, we may never have met, especially without the internet.  

What else do you Fangirl about?

What about you take a seat and I fetch us some tea and cookies while I try to remember everything I fangirl about? I have always been multifandom and it doesn’t get better with age!

Star Wars is my first love but I also owe a lot to the X-Files (and Gillian Anderson) as well. I love Battlestar Galactica, Farscape, Stargate, Babylon 5, The 100, Pacific Rim, The Hunger Games, Harry Potter, Anne McCaffrey, Highlander, Mass Effect, Dragon Age, Disney, Tomb Raider, Buffy, Terminator, Within Temptation, Nightwish, Syberia, Joan D. Vinge, Orphan Black, Philippa Ballantine, My Little Pony, The Last Ship, Tolkien, Alien…

Even throwing movie, TV show, video game, singers, authors and books I fangirl about in this extensive list makes me think I didn’t even get close to name everything I fangirl about. I lack time to keep up with everything but I safely make sure I have everything around when I am able to read/watch/play!

Anything else you want to say to others about being a Fangirl?

Embrace your passions. You are never too old to enjoy this or that book/TV show/movie. If you want to try (or not try) watching/reading/playing something, it’s all good. You can be a fangirl in many ways, whether just talking about what you love, making fan creations, wearing fannish clothing, and so much more! There isn’t one way to be a fangirl. The only bottom line is to treat people with respect, even when you disagree on something. Other than that? Have fun and be proud of being a fangirl!

Thank you again Natacha for this interview and letting us get to know you better.

***

Natacha Guyot is a French author, scholar and public speaker. She works on Science Fiction, Transmedia, Gender Studies, Children Media and Fan Studies. She is a feminist, a fangirl, a bookworm, a vidder, a gamer and a cat lover.

Her released titles include Feminist Bloggers: The 2014 Collection (editor), Before Mako Came Yoko: Comparative Study of Pacific Rim and Yoko Tsuno and La Cité de Sharianth. The New Revised Edition of A Galaxy of Possibilities: Representation and Storytelling in Star Wars will be released in September, which will also include new bonus chapters.

She is currently working on other nonfiction titles and also writes Science Fiction and Fantasy stories.

You can connect with her on natachaguyot.org, Twitter, Goodreads and Facebook.

Tags:

About Patty Hammond

I am a self proclaimed fangirl who is disguised as a mild mannered data analyst for an advertising firm. You can find me on Twitter as @pattybones2

5 responses to “Interview with a Fangirl: Natacha Guyot”

  1. Natacha Guyot says :

    Thank you very much for having me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

