Interview with an Author: Rinelle Grey

It is a pleasure to welcome Rinelle Grey, author the science fiction romance series, Barren Planet Romances.

Welcome Rinelle to The Adventures of the Everyday Fangirl and thanks so much for taking the time out your busy schedule to help us get to know you.

Thanks for this opportunity!

What does the title of this novel, series or set of stories signify?

The title of my series, Barren Planet Romances, began with the first book, which is set on a polluted planet that has a very harsh winter. It’s a challenge for the inhabitants to survive, and I wanted the series title to reflect that too. The word barren has a double meaning, in that it also refers to my protagonist, who is unable to have children. It is less obvious at first how it fits with the second book in the series, which is set on a heavily populated planet, but in this case, it is the government who is restricting it’s population from further increasing. As a second tie in, this planet has moved most of their food production off planet, a fact that’s going to become a problem for them very soon as they run out of rocket fuel! The other books in the series continue these themes as well.

Do the names of the characters in your novel have some sort of significance or importance to you? If so, give a few examples…

The names don’t have any particular significance to me, but they have come to do so after living with the characters for so long. For most of my fantasy/sci-fi romances, I tend to make up names by putting together sounds/syllables until they sound good. It is interesting that at least two of my heros have names beginning with T though!

What prompted you to write in this genre and who or what inspired you to?

I didn’t even realise that I was writing sci-fi romance initially. I just had this idea where a spaceship crashes on a planet, and ran with it. It wasn’t until I was trying to figure out where it fitted into the Amazon categories that I realised sci-fi romance was a genre. Now I’m enjoying exploring all the other great writers who write in this genre too!

My love of sci-fi in general though was inspired by my husband, who used to tape Stargate every week and bring it around to my place to watch together. He followed this up by introducing me to Star Trek, and the rest is history. I always loved the episodes with hints of romance in them, so it’s not really surprising that I put the two of them together.

What are the most important attributes to remaining sane as a writer and do your characters reflect some of these attributes?

Sane? Who said I was sane?

Seriously though, I think a willingness to roll with the punches, and adapt on the fly is essential to being a writer, both for fitting my writing in around my family, and for coping with my characters, who always throw in the unexpected. This is definitely reflected in my characters, who have to cope with some unusual and unexpected challenges, that make my dealing with paint spilled on the floor or the sudden need for a bandaid seem like child’s play.

What kind of research did you have to do for the novel, series or set of stories that was different from others?

I’ve had some really interesting research for this one. A lot of it centering around meteor strikes, and the damage they do. I found a really cool online tool that allowed you to set the size, material, impact speed of a meteor, and centre it’s hit at any point on a map of the Earth. That was fun to play with!

What makes you laugh?

I seem to spend a lot of time laughing at silly YouTube videos my daughter or husband are watching lately. Oh, and my mum’s dogs, they’re always up to trouble.

What makes you cry?

This is a harder one. Usually anyone going through a tough time, especially one I can relate to.

What are you a fan of and is this reflected in your writing?

I’m a big fan of a lot of different sci-fi shows – Stargate, Star Trek, Firefly, Battlestar Galactica, and of course, Star Wars. You’ll definitely see reflections of the situations I’ve watched reflected in my stories. In fact, the first book in my Barren Planet Romances series is a popular trope in these series, the handsome pilot is stuck on a planet, thinking he will never get home, so he falls in love with one of the local women.

Again, thank you Rinelle for answering these questions and helping us to become better acquainted with you and the Barren Planet Romances series.

If you read a Rinelle Grey story, you can trust in a happy ending. Love will always triumph, even if it seems impossible… Rinelle Grey writes feel-good romance usually in science fiction or fantasy settings. Her heroines are independent and headstrong, and her stories are hard to put down.

The first book in the Barren Planet Romance series is available for free on Amazon, iBooks and Nook.

Rinelle grew up in a remote area of Australia, without power, hot water, or a phone, but now lives with all of those and her (happily ever after) husband, daughter, chooks, ducks and veggie garden.

Sign up for her mailing list to be notified when new books are released, read her blog, Follow her on Facebook or Twitter.

Tags:

About Patty Hammond

I am a self proclaimed fangirl who is disguised as a mild mannered data analyst for an advertising firm. You can find me on Twitter as @pattybones2

One response to “Interview with an Author: Rinelle Grey”

  1. rinellegrey says :

    Thanks for having me, Patty!

Leave a Reply

