Interview with a Fangirl: JediTink

I am continuing with my series of interviews with Fangirls that I have met through social media!

Today, it is my pleasure to interview cosplayer, podcaster, blogger and, of course, fangirl, Sarah Woloski, known as JediTink! I “met” Sarah when she was featured as Fangirl of the Day on July 6, 2013 and have been following her ever since on Twitter, Facebook and of course the Skywalking Through Neverland podcast! In April, I finally met Sarah “in person” at Star Wars Celeberation Anaheim and we had a blast hanging out together.

Welcome Sarah to The Adventures of The Everyday Fangirl and thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to answer these questions!

When did you first see Star Wars and did you love it right away or did this grow on you over time?

I first saw Star Wars backwards!

When I was 10, my older cousins were in town and we were looking for something to do, so they went through this huge list of movies on VHS my dad had recorded and compiled over the years. “Let’s watch ‘Return Of The Jedi’” they proclaimed. Having no idea what this was, I said ok. We watched it and I was hooked! The next night, a stormy evening, “The Empire Strikes Back” happened to be on TV. Then I watched “A New Hope” the next day. Having seen them in the wrong order, I had to immediately watch them over again in the right order. Throughout that summer I watched and rewatched the Original Trilogy, and got all my friends obsessed as well.

Now, this was 1991, and the amazing Timothy Zahn trilogy was mid-release. Always a reader, I dived into these books with the same abandon as watching the movies.

My love of Star Wars, especially John Williams’ score, grew and grew. For my 16th birthday, I took a bunch of friends to the theater to watch The Empire Strikes Back when the Special Editions re-released in 1997. I remember my friends made me a birthday cake with Star Wars figures on top. I asked if I could keep the figures, but they said no. They belonged to their younger brothers!

My love of Star Wars only grew, and the timing for “The Phantom Menace” could not have been more perfect. I drove straight from my last Final Exam of Senior Year in High School to join my friends in the overnight line to buy tickets for opening night of The Phantom Menace in 1999. What an experience!

What have you learned from the Star Wars community that has had a positive impact on your life?

Ignore negativity, promote positivity. People are always willing to help if you open yourself up. For me, of late, the Star Wars community I talk with on a regular basis are podcasters. We are always willing to help each other, promote each other and be on each others’ shows! #podcastersunite. It’s a wonderful community and I love being a part of it. Because of this podcasting community, Richard and I have been tapped to kick off DK Publishing’s book tour for “Star Wars: Absolutely Everything You Need To Know” on Force Friday in San Diego. We are excited to moderate a panel of four Star Wars authors, three of whom we already know because of this wonderful thing called “Star Wars.”

How has social media helped or hindered you?

I adore social media. I first used MySpace, then Facebook. Then I discovered the wonderful world of Twitter. In fact, through @HerUniverse “Fangirl Of The Day,” I’ve met and befriended so many fangirls, including Teresa Delgado and Tricia Barr, my cohosts on Fangirls Going Rogue! In fact, if it weren’t for Twitter, I probably wouldn’t be a part of Fangirls Going Rogue. Also, when I first joined Twitter and had to think up a handle, I conceived “@JediTink.” It was because of this awesome Twitter name that I created my JediTink costume, and she became the mascot for Skywalking Through Neverland.

In promoting our podcast, Skywalking Through Neverland, I’ve learned quite a bit about social media. We’ve cultivated a wonderful, dynamic following on both Facebook and Twitter. It’s become so addictive that I often feel closer to my online friends than those I see face-to-face in real life!

When did you begin to realize you were a Fangirl?

Probably Ashley Eckstein’s “Fangirl Of The Day” really made me embrace that title.

What else do you Fangirl about?

Oh my goodness, I adore Disney movies and Disneyland. Harry Potter books are a must. And now Disney Infinity is a big obsession of mine. Let’s see – let’s head to my Twitter profile and see what it says: “StarWars Disney fangirl. Loves John Williams, cosplay, running and Julie Andrews. Happy wife happy life.” Yup. That sums me up.

Thank you again Sarah for this interview and sharing your Fangirl story with us.

***

Of course, you can learn more about Sarah by following her through the following:

Podcast: SkywalkingThroughNeverland.com
Subscribe on iTunes & YouTube

Contributor: AdventuresByDaddy.com
Podcast Host: Fangirls Going Rogue on RebelForce Radio

tweet tweet! @SkywalkingPod @JediTink

Tags:

About pattybones2

I am a self proclaimed fangirl who is disguised as a mild mannered data analyst for an advertising firm.

Leave a Reply

