Interview with a Fangirl: Becca

I am continuing with my series of interviews with Fangirls that I have met through social media!

Today, it is my pleasure to interview Copy Editor / Administrative Consultant / Featured Blogger for The Cantina Cast Website & Podcast, blogger at www.coffeewithkenobi.com, Personal Author (Titles & Captions of LE art pieces ) for Steve Anderson: Lucasfilm illustrator & freelance artist and of course fangirl, Becca Benjamin.

I first became aware of Becca when I read TheCantinaCast.net article, “There Is No Underwear In Space“.

Welcome Becca to The Adventures of The Everyday Fangirl and thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to answer these questions!

When did you begin to realize you were a Fangirl?

Not exactly sure of the ‘exact’ moment – mostly because that term or label did not exist back then. However, I do know it was early on … my fourth Birthday cake was graced with Darth Vader’s mask and trimmed in pink icing.

How has social media helped or hindered you?

This is a trick question lol!
Well, for starters, social media has helped by allowing me, as an individual, to find other Star Wars fans just like me! Most of my Star Wars friends I have met through the Internet and that was all thanks to starwars.com Hyperspace Blogs. Our close-net circle donned the name PLB – Pitiful Little Band and flooded the blogging pages of all things Star Wars. This eventually led to where I am now: titling for Lucasfilm artist, Steve Anderson – contributing monthly to the Coffee with Kenobi blogs and assisting with The Cantina Cast as: PR to the CEO, Featured Blogger, Website Editor & etc.

As for the hinderance, well, it’s still very difficult to be heard or taken seriously as a woman in fandom. A lot of times, our male counterparts end up with more leverage because they are a ‘guy’ in a predominately male orientated franchise-fandom. Nine times out of ten, their thoughts or ideals get the limelight over us girls, even if the insight is on the same page! It becomes very frustrating and I refuse to cheapen myself in order to sway attention. In other words, intelligence goes a long way and beauty has a shelf life.

When did you first see Star Wars and did you love it right away or did this grow on you over time?

My first glimpse of Star Wars was between 1977 – 1978 and yes, I was immediately captivated by it. Granted I was almost 4yrs old at the time, but Darth Vader left a lasting impression on me.
My true passions didn’t quite bloom until the dawn of the prequels and then my fascination with Star Wars became a feeding frenzy – just couldn’t absorb enough GFFA knowledge.

What have you learned from the Star Wars fan community or other fan communities that has had a positive impact on your life?

To embrace all aspects and all POV’s with an openness – do your best to respect those that differ from your own. To keep in mind that the diversity of this fandom and the ambiguity of this story is what makes it grow, generation after generation. In the end, the true impact is – only what you take with you.

What else do you Fangirl about?

Harry Potter, Twilight, Chronicles of Narnia, Indiana Jones, Firefly-Serenity, and the X-Files that are coming back! Of course, this is just a few off the top of my head.

Anything else you want to say to others about being a Fangirl?

Never give up! Do what makes you happy and please, be persistent – be heard! Remember, you’re worth it and the sky’s the limit! Fly Straight …

Thank you again Becca for answering these questions and letting us get to know you together.

Thank you, this was funtastic!

You can follow Becca on Twitter @urangelb.

Tags:

About pattybones2

I am a self proclaimed fangirl who is disguised as a mild mannered data analyst for an advertising firm.

Leave a Reply

