Interview with author Cassy Campbell

It is a pleasure to welcome author Cassy Campbell, who recently released the Sci-Fi Romance, Dreamland: City of Gold, which is Book 1 of the Dreamland series.

    

Welcome Cassy to The Adventures of the Everyday Fangirl and thanks so much for taking the time out your busy schedule to help us get to know you and your story better.

What does the title of this novel, series or set of stories signify?

I just wanted a cool, memorable title to start off this spinoff series. The first series, Travelers, is set in Area 51, which is also called Dreamland. So that seemed like the perfect title for this new series that ties to Travelers. Plus, Dreamland calls up all the alien conspiracies surrounding Area 51, it’s mysterious, and it ties to the plot of the story, in which two of my characters dream of distant events. The working title was actually just City of Gold for the whole year and a half I was writing it, but do you know how many City of Golds there are out in bookland? Me neither, but it’s a lot. So Dreamland: City of Gold, seemed to differentiate it a bit.

Do the names of the characters in your novel have some sort of significance or importance to you?
If so, give a few examples…

I always try to pick names that don’t relate to anyone in my personal life. I don’t want anyone coming to me thinking I wrote a book about them! Especially since my characters are really people in and of themselves. They would be angry if they didn’t get their own identities. That said, I usually try to play around with something that seems to fit them, either their personalities or their roles in the story.

What prompted you to write in this genre and who or what inspired you to?

I read scifi and have since I was in gradeschool, and those are always the most interesting stories to me, so that is what I naturally gravitate to when I write. My stories usually start with some kind of what-if, and I just find the most exciting questions to me as a writer are set in a science-based fantasy world.

What are the most important attributes to remaining sane as a writer and do your characters reflect some of these attributes?

Haha, I wish I knew! I don’t write full-time, but I think if I did, I’d have a better chance of maintaining my sanity than I do now. My key, I suppose, is making sure I keep track of my time, and schedule everything I have to do every day. I write down lists for every day, and check off the items when they’re finished. If I don’t write it down, it’s not getting done.

What kind of research did you have to do for the novel, series or set of stories that was different from others?

For this novel, most of my research was about the Navy, which I hadn’t written much of before, and about the Bermuda Triangle and at-sea disappearances. That didn’t seem much like work! I learned about a lot of things that just didn’t fit into the book, but research for a writer is never wasted. Maybe those things will show up somewhere else in my work someday.

What are you a fan of and is this reflected in your writing?

I am a huge fan of a lot of scifi—books, movies, tv. I think anything a writer experiences is reflected in her work, at least peripherally. We are the sum of our experiences and our books are the conscious focusing of everything swimming around in the soup we call our minds, so yeah, something I love to watch is going to influence what I write, or at least maybe spark an idea that goes, “Hey, what if…?”

###
Again, thank you Cassy for answering these questions and helping us to become better acquainted with both the Dreamland: City of Gold and yourself.

   

Dreamland: City of Gold now available

amazon.com | ibooks | bn.com | kobo 

About Cassy Campbell

Cassy Campbell grew up in the frozen tundra of the Far North. Perhaps not surprisingly, the long dark winters encouraged her love affair with stories from an early age, and one of her favorite things is still curling up under a blanket with a book. Once she realized that she loved to write stories as much as read them, she realized the world was hers (at least the ones in her books). She became a member of the Romance Writers of America, the Wisconsin RWA, and the rest is history. She currently lives in the much balmier climate of the Not As Far North where she is, at this moment, likely daydreaming her way through her next story. You can visit Cassy’s Website, http://cassycampbell.com, follow her Facebook Page, www.facebook.com/cassycampbellbooks or via Twitter: @Cassy_Campbell

Tags:

About Patty Hammond

I am a self proclaimed fangirl who is disguised as a mild mannered data analyst for an advertising firm. You can find me on Twitter as @pattybones2

Leave a Reply

