Interview with Artist Roy Stanton

Today, it is my pleasure to interview actor and artist Roy Stanton. I became aware of Roy Stanton and his awesome artistic work through the Star Wars fan community. I am honored that Roy agreed to answer these interview questions about himself and his work as an artist.

  

Welcome Roy to The Adventures of The Everyday Fangirl and thanks again for taking time out of your busy schedule to let us get to know you better! 

Thanks so much for asking me to do the interview. 😀

What first prompted you to become an artist?

I think my interest in comics, which started when I was very young, got me into the idea of being an artist. In fact, a comic artist was an early ambition of mine, and I still toy around with the idea.

What is your favorite piece and why?

I don’t think I have a favorite piece; it’s more a type I like, as in “figure art” as opposed to landscape or abstraction. I do tend to favor comic art and art from monster magazines, also.

What is you least favorite piece and why?

Again, not so much a single piece that’s a least favorite, but if I had to choose a type I disliked the most, it would be conceptual art. Don’t get me started…

Who inspires and encourages you to continue to work as an artist?

Actually, a couple of comic artists, Adam Hughes and Frank Cho, are very much an inspiration, as well as Basil Gogos.

What are you a fan of and for how long? How does your fandom inspire your artwork?

Wow, that covers a lot of territory… Comics, as I mentioned are a big part of it, as well as science fiction, fantasy, film and television dealing with that genre (so Star Trek, Star Wars and the various shows inspired by them). I’ve been a sci-fi fan long enough to still use the term “sci-fi” and think it’s cool. As for inspiration, I’ll just say that doing work in the sci-fi or fantasy genre is exactly the kind of work I’d be happy doing for the rest of my life.

How do you decide on which medium to create your works in? Is it something that you choose to do at first or does it come to you later?

No special process to decide, actually. I’m really kind of an anarchist when it comes to media; it’s just whatever I feel like working in at the time. I might be that I’ve been inspired by someone else’s work, or I simply “see” the subject I want to depict in a certain media.

How has social media helped or hindered you?

Well, it’s helped a LOT in terms of getting my work SEEN; that’s the most important facet of social media, I think: the creation of a digital meeting place, unbounded by geography or time. Anyone who’s connected can see my work anytime, no matter where they are.

What have you learned from the Star Wars fan community or other fan communities that has had a positive impact on your life?

I think seeing the intensity of people’s passion for Star Wars, and how that’s inspired them to great creative heights has had the most significant and positive impact on my life. It’s amazing to see the things Star Wars fans have created, whether it’s visual art, costuming, props, or film. Truly inspiring.

What are the most important attributes to remaining sane as an artist and how does your work reflect some of these attributes?

Ah, well, I think you HAVE to be true to the things that really move you as an artist, and focus your energy on them. There’s that constant notion of “do I do my art for me, or do I do my art to make a living?” And ultimately, even if you do end up doing art to make a living, if it’s NOT the type of work you really like to produce, I think you have to spend some time doing what you really want, just to remind yourself of why you do art in the first place. It’s why I always come back to sci-fi, monsters and superheroes in my work.

What kind of research did you have to do before you create an artistic piece?

Depends on the piece. If it’s a specific character, I want to get the details right, of course, so I’ll spend a lot of time looking at reference pics to make sure I’ve got all that down. In terms of pose, I have a few resource books I turn to for inspiration or reference there, as well. Sometimes, though, I just like to go in without any prep work. Just look at the image in my head and try to translate it directly to the paper or canvas.

What makes you laugh?

Oh, wow, uh, a LOT of things. I’m basically a pretty happy person, and I LIKE to laugh, so… it doesn’t take much. 🙂

What makes you cry?

A broken heart. Truly. Whether it’s mine or someone else’s. It could be a movie, T.V., real life… I tear up easy when that’s on the line.

Is there anything else you would like to share?

Just that I’m glad I live in a time where there is so much creativity out there in the world. I would hope everyone who feels even a tiny bit of inspiration would follow through with it and explore it. Involvement with the arts is, I think, essential to the basic needs of the human spirit. And we can all find ways to create.

Roy thank you again for stopping by and letting us get to know more about you and your artistic approach.
  

To learn more about Roy and his artwork you can check out The Art of Roy Stanton Facebook page.

Tags:

About pattybones2

I am a self proclaimed fangirl who is disguised as a mild mannered data analyst for an advertising firm.

Leave a Reply

