Fangirls: Encouragement or lack of encouragement from family

Fangirls: Encouragement or lack of encouragement from family

  

The other day I was down the aisle with all the Star Wars toys at a local big box store, when I noticed a young girl, about 6, come to the end of the aisle. She was looking at the rack of Star Wars The Force Awakens trading cards wth Rey on the packs displayed there. She was looking intently at the display until her mother walked up and steered her away from the aisle saying that the toys she wants is in the next aisle, the one with the dolls.  A few minutes later, I saw that young girl again looking down the Star Wars aisle, while her Mom was occupied with something across the aisle. I saw longing in her eyes and wanted to say to her that she was not alone, but again she was steered away before I could say anything to her.

I am saddened that, like the example mentioned above, that budding fangirls can be discouraged by the immediate family members who are stuck on the perceived gender divides encouraged by the marketing. If I was that little girl’s mother, I would not discourage her in the least from loving whatever fandom she likes and would encourage her to embrace whatever fandom she would be interested in, no matter if it was for girls or for boys.

This brief encounter made me realize how lucky I was that, even though I was raised in the 1970’s and 1980’s, that I was not discouraged from looking and even having Star Wars or other ‘boy’ branded merchandise. That I was not told that Star Wars, Star Trek, Transformers, Robotech, He-Man and even James Bond were just for boys. We might not have been able to buy much of the merchandise available at that time because finances were tight, but I was never discouraged from looking.

This may because my Mom and Dad were really big on sharing. Whatever we watched or played with in the house was watched or played with by everyone. Especially whatever toys we had including the few Star Wars toys we had. Trust me in a house of 7 children, there was not much that was not shared by both genders in the household.

It also helped that both my parents were fans themselves. My Dad was a big Science Fiction fan and my Mom was a fan of fantasy and musicals. Both of my parents did not discourage me in any way, by pointing out that something was just for girls or just for boys.

  

Thank you Mom and Dad for giving me encouragement and helping me become the everyday Fangirl I am today.

About pattybones2

I am a self proclaimed fangirl who is disguised as a mild mannered data analyst for an advertising firm.

One response to “Fangirls: Encouragement or lack of encouragement from family”

  1. preposterousplum says :

    I played with cars and barbies in equal measure as a child, and I was never encouraged or discouraged from playing with any particular toys. It’s so sad to think that there are parents out there limiting their children’s freedom of expression at such a young age, especially these days.

Leave a Reply

