Interview with a Fangirl: Vanessa

I am continuing with my series of interviews with Fangirls that I have met through social media!

Today, it is my pleasure to interview actress and of course fangirl, Vanessa Marshall.

  

I first became aware of Vanessa when she started interacting with fellow fangirl, Teresa Delgado and was excited that this Fangirl, who is just like I am, landed the role of Hera Syndulla on Star Wars Rebels.

 IMG_2223 

Welcome Vanessa to The Adventures of The Everyday Fangirl and thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to answer these questions!

When did you begin to realize you were a Fangirl?

It is hard to pinpoint an exact time and place. I suppose I’ve been Fangirl Flailing for a LONG TIME! I love great stories — in films, television shows, plays, books, graphic novels and comic books. I started going to San Diego Comicon 12 years ago. I would go to panels, check out all the comics, and eat my body weight in pretzels. I was so content in that environment. I felt at home there. Understood without words. Loved seeing all the cosplay too! It was also exciting to hear announcements about future projects. Like most cons, it was a safe place for everyone to FLAIL with reckless abandon – no judgment! When it really came down to it, it seemed like we were all there in praise of good stories being told in various mediums. We were celebrating that idea – as FANS. I think that is when I started to officially call myself a “fangirl!”

How has social media helped or hindered you?

Social media has helped me. Thanks to Twitter and Instagram, I have tons of new friends. It has been wonderful. The communities have been so welcoming, and I feel really lucky! One of my dearest friends is Teresa Delgado (@icecoldpenguin), whom I met when I was brand new to social media. Teresa was so kind and has introduced me to a lot of the Star Wars Fandom. I love her website: www.FangirlNextDoor.com, where you can find links to her various podcasts: Fangirls Going Rogue, Star Wars Bookworms, Disney Vault Talk and Galactic Fashion. I have so much respect for all she does, and I consider her family!

  

In 2014 at New York Comicon, I also got to meet fangirls with whom I’d been chatting on social media, and it was as if we had been friends our whole lives. The list is long and my love for them is endless!

When did you first see Star Wars and did you love it right away or did this grow on you over time?

The first Star Wars movie was so powerful. I was hooked from the opening moments! The bombastic music coupled with the rumble of Star Destroyer, as it moved across the screen, let me know I was in for the ride of my life!
  

To be a part of the Saga now is truly an honor. It is mind-boggling actually!

What have you learned from the Star Wars fan community or other fan communities that has had a positive impact on your life?

On May 4th 2014, I went to the Los Angeles Children’s Hospital with Disney, Lucasfilm, and the 501st Legion, where we able to spend time with terminally ill children. It was very moving to see them dance with R2D2. They were so happy. I saw how Star Wars can unite so many people and for such good causes. That was a magical day!

  

Star Wars Weekends in Orlando, Florida was also a great opportunity for me to interact directly with the fan community. That too was very powerful. There was a parade every day, along with various events all geared toward celebrating the Saga. It was heaven on Earth!

  

The same could be said for Star Wars Celebration last year! That was truly epic!

 

Even Darth Makenna was there!

  

In advance of The Force Awakens, I also made tons of news friends while raising money for charity with The Line Awakens!

  

Great Star Wars family there!

What else do you Fangirl about?

I love Marvel comics. Marvel everything actually! Wolverine is my DUDE! Jessica Jones is my higher power! Really loved the Guardians of the Galaxy movie too! I am thrilled to play Gamora in Marvel’s Guardians of the Galaxy Animated Series on Disney XD.

  

And I absolutely adored playing Mary Jane in The Spectacular Spider-Man, as well as Black Widow in Avengers: Earth’s Mightiest Heroes. I have a lot of reverence for those characters!

  

In the DC realm, of course, I love WONDER WOMAN! I was grateful to portray such a strong female icon in Justice League: Crisis on Two Earths and Flashpoint Paradox. Poison Ivy was another fun role on Batman: Brave and the Bold. She is hilarious! So saucy!

  

Currently, I am all about “Orphan Black,” “Banshee,” “Baskets,” “Daredevil,” “Sense 8,” “Jessica Jones,” “Shameless,” “House of Cards,” “Billions,” and “Game of Thrones!” 

Nothing like binge watching television, right! Hardcore fangirl action there!

When it comes to food? I fangirl over Just Jenn’s creations on JustJennrecipes.com. @justjenn is a GENIUS!! She covers all fandoms and creates the coolest treats I have ever seen!

  

And of course, I love Ashley Eckstein’s amazing website for all things FANGIRL! @heruniverse! I cannot wait to see what she will come up with next! She is an inspiration!

  
 

Anything else you want to say to others about being a Fangirl?

I am just so happy to connect with so many cool women in such a positive ways. I adore Johnamarie Macias and her site: www.thewookieegunner.com. It’s always fun to check out “Geek Girl Diva” and “The Mary Sue” sites as well. I enjoy listening to “Lattes with Leia” and “Star Wars Geek Girl” podcasts, and I look forward to discovering many more!

Shout outs to my fellow Fangirls: Amy Ratcliffe, Tricia Barr, Sarah Woloski, Liz Perales, Megan Crouse, Lillian Skye, Dr. Andrea Letamendi, Savanna Kiefer (TheDorkyDiva.com), Stacey Bender and StarWarsGirls.com. May we all FLAIL together forever! xoxo

Thank you again Vanessa for answering these questions and letting us get to know you as a Fangirl!

  

You can follow Vanessa Marshall via…

Tags:

About pattybones2

I am a self proclaimed fangirl who is disguised as a mild mannered data analyst for an advertising firm.

Leave a Reply

