Interview with a Fangirl: Jenmarie

I am continuing with my series of interviews with Fangirls that I have met through social media!
Today, it is my pleasure to interview blogger and of course fangirl, Jenmarie!

  
I first became aware of Jenmarie through her blog Anakin and His Angel and through her interactions via Twitter.

Welcome Jenmarie to The Adventures of The Everyday Fangirl and thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to answer these questions!

When did you begin to realize you were a Fangirl?

I can’t remember an exact time I realized I was a Fangirl. I honestly wasn’t even aware of that term until maybe my late teens/early twenties. But I definitely knew I was a “fan” of many things including Star Wars, Disney, The Lord of the Rings, and Pirates of the Caribbean. Everything in my room growing up represented what I loved. Almost every inch of my wall was covered in posters from my favorite films and magazine pages of my favorite actors, which obviously mostly consisted of people from Star Wars. I knew I was a fan because of my collections, my different websites/blogs dedicated to said obsessions over the years, and my devotion to watching everything I loved a myriad of times.

How has social media helped or hindered you?

Social media is a great way to share the content you create with the world. Without it I believe I would’ve struggled in getting myself back into the Star Wars community after a semi-hiatus from Anakin and His Angel. But social media isn’t just about branding yourself and sharing updates on your latest content or random thoughts. I’ve made some of my best Star Wars friends over Twitter! Engaging with the community is one of my favorite things about being a blogger. I love being able to share in exciting moments with other fans, encouraging others, and supporting them and their own work.

When did you first see Star Wars and did you love it right away or did this grow on you over time?

I first saw A New Hope at eleven years old in 1997 during it’s re-release in theaters. I loved everything about it and was an immediate fan! I started collecting figures and other random pieces and eventually saw the other films. Although my siblings and I seemed to have watched A New Hope the most often, The Empire Strikes Back was always my favorite of the three. However, it was The Phantom Menace that somehow took my love of Star Wars to the next level. My collection began to grow even more and it was also around this time that I created my Star Wars blog.

What have you learned from the Star Wars fan community or any other fan communities that has had a positive impact on your life?

The Star Wars Community has always impressed me by their belief in accepting ANYONE into the great big giant family it is. There is drama from time to time, but you’re going to find that wherever you go. Even with the occasionally chaotic disagreements among the fans, I have never known any other fandom to be so friendly and supportive. There are friendships between people that I think some would glance at and probably consider highly unlikely and it’s one of the coolest things! If Chewbacca and C-3PO can be friends, anyone can! I think it’s a shame that more people don’t portray the mindset of being friendly and accepting towards others outside of the Star Wars fandom.

What else do you Fangirl about?

I absolutely love Disney! In fact, I was a Disney fan before I was a Star Wars fan. My favorites are the classics like Beauty and the Beast (which I saw eleven times in the theater), and Alice in Wonderland. I am always singing Disney Songs, and I’ve been a Disneyland passholder most of my life. I also really love X-men, Marvel, DC, LOTR, etc.

Anything else you want to say to others about being a Fangirl?

Fangirl about anything you want to and don’t ever be ashamed about what you love! Enjoy it, and live it!

Thanks again Jenmarie for letting us get to know you and your fandom better.

***

More about Jenmarie | @acrossthestars
Anakin And His Angel
http://www.anakinandhisangel.com

Jenmarie is a thirty-year-old who is completely obsessed with Star Wars and has been blogging about it for fifteen years on Anakin and His Angel. She enjoys sharing content pertaining to Star Wars fashion and collecting, and also likes to write various articles which include everything from talking about hair in the galaxy to recognizing characters with anxiety. Of course, you can always expect Anakin and Padme content from time to time as well. Jenmarie likes to provide a little bit of everything which she believes keeps things fresh and exciting for her readers!

You can follow Jenmarie via her Blog: http://www.anakinandhisangel.com, her Twitter account, her Instagram account or her Facebook page.

Tags: ,

About pattybones2

I am a self proclaimed fangirl who is disguised as a mild mannered data analyst for an advertising firm.

Leave a Reply

