Interview with Author Veronica Scott

It is a pleasure to welcome author Veronica Scott, author of Trapped on Talonque.

Welcome Veronica to The Adventures of the Everyday Fangirl and thanks so much for taking the time out your busy schedule to help us get to know you and your story better.

Thanks for having me as your guest!

What does the title of this novel, series or set of stories signify?

My most recent science fiction romance novel is called Trapped on Talonque, because when I first started writing my stories, I thought I was going to give all of them a title with a verb and an alien planet name. Then after a few encounters with readers who loved the books (yay!) but who were unsure of the pronunciation (uh oh!), I realized maybe that wasn’t the best strategy. I do have a few novels with this naming convention but in the future I’ll probably try to move away from it.

All my scifi romances are part of the Sectors SF Romance series, because my galaxy wide civilization is known as the Sectors. I have another series set on an interstellar luxury cruise liner in the Sectors, which I call ‘Star Cruise’ this-or-that. I think I’ll move toward using the word ‘star’ more in my titles and let the exotic planetary names just reside in the books. My next book is entitled Star Survivors and I hope to have it out before the end of 2016.

What prompted you to write in this genre and who or what inspired you to?

When I was young, my Dad gave me an Andre Norton book to read – Catseye – and after finishing that, I couldn’t get my hands on all her other books fast enough. Then I branched out to read a library’s worth of different science fiction authors. I love the idea of infinite possibilities for adventure and exploration in the galaxy…but with a lot more romance than I found in most SF novels. Anne McCaffrey was another favorite of mine, especially Restoree and her Dragon Riders of Pern series. Since I always needed more books to read and I wanted more romance, I started writing my own. The movie “Aliens” is a good example of what I strive for in my stories – strong heroine, strong hero, mutual respect, danger, adventure AND a love story. I kind of amplify what was hinted at between Ripley and Hicks in that movie LOL.

What are the most important attributes to remaining sane as a writer and do your characters reflect some of these attributes?

I have to write – it’s like breathing to me. I sit down and the words just flow and I lose all sense of time. Which is great BUT in the current publishing environment, there are many other things an author has to do as well, like engaging on social media, doing promo…and I have to be careful that I don’t spend too much time on all the other activities and not enough time ‘just’ writing. I love the social aspects of being an author, especially twitter, but the important thing at the core of all I do is creating the books.

I think as far as my own personality, I’m good in an emergency or crisis, and I tend to write characters who are the same. You can’t hesitate when your spaceship is about to blow up or the space pirates are about to capture you. Take action now, fall apart later, when the danger’s over.

What kind of research did you have to do for the novel, series or set of stories that was different from others?

For Trapped on Talonque, I invented a ritual ball game that the hero must play and win in order to survive, so I did a lot of research into similar games played by the ancients in Central and South America. For some of my other scifi romances I’ve heavily researched the sinking of the Titanic, the cruise industry, life on an aircraft carrier, pathology of deadly viruses, abdominal surgery, the aspects of the goddess Kali…I want to create a world in the Sectors that feels solid and well thought out for the readers, so I absorb a lot of details of our own world and synthesize. And add ingredients from my own active imagination!

What makes you laugh?

I’m a tough nut when it comes to laughing out loud. Kittens or small children playing are always good. Georgette Heyer wrote some side splitting scenes and dialog in some of her Regency novels – Cotillion is one of my favorites, no matter how many times I read it. The early seasons of “The Big Bang Theory” have moments that cracked me up with their sheer absurdity.

What makes you cry?

There’s a death of a much beloved character in one of Anne McCaffrey’s Pern novels that I cried over (no spoilers). In the recent season two finale of the show “Killjoys,” I cried when the character of Khlyen died. So I guess death and parting from loved ones are my triggers. I always write Happily Ever After endings for my main characters, by the way, precisely because I don’t handle anything less than that well when I’m reading a book or watching a movie.

What are you a fan of and is this reflected in your writing?

By now you have no doubt gathered I’m a huge fan of science fiction, action and adventure, with a lot of true love and romance. I can’t imagine ever writing a book that didn’t contain these elements! I do write a series set in ancient Egypt and for that I substitute paranormal or fantastical elements for the science fiction but all the rest remains the same.

 

img_0065

Trapped on Talonque

AmazonApple iBooks | Kobo | Barnes & Noble | All Romance eBooks

Will an alien sleeping beauty awaken to save him, or destroy everyone around her?

When a Sectors Special Forces soldier and his team crash land on an alien planet, they’re taken captive and given a challenge–win at the violent ball game of sapiche and live. Lose, and they die, sending a mysterious, alien beauty to an even uglier fate. To survive, these soldiers must win the game and find a way to free the dangerous prisoner from her locked chamber.

Nate Reilly and his team are in deep trouble. Prisoners on a backward alien planet, they’re brought before an alien ‘goddess’, sleeping in her high tech seclusion. Nate is astonished when she awakes and establishes a psychic link with him. But her news is not good–he and his men must win a brutal challenge set by their captors, or they will die. She’ll give her aid, but in the end their courage and strength must win the contest.

Bithia sleeps in her chamber, as she has for thousands of years, since her own people unaccountably left her there. Viewed as a goddess by her captors, she must hide her ancient secrets to survive. But only the bravest of men may free her. Can she use her psychic powers to keep Nate and his men alive long enough to help her escape, or will her only hope of freedom die with them?

About Veronica Scott

Best Selling Science Fiction & Paranormal Romance author and “SciFi Encounters” columnist for the USA Today Happily Ever After blog, Veronica Scott grew up in a house with a library as its heart. Dad loved science fiction, Mom loved ancient history and Veronica thought there needed to be more romance in everything. When she ran out of books to read, she started writing her own stories.
Three time winner of the SFR Galaxy Award, as well as a National Excellence in Romance Fiction Award, Veronica is also the proud recipient of a NASA Exceptional Service Medal relating to her former day job, not her romances! She recently was honored to read the part of Star Trek Crew Member in the official audiobook production of Harlan Ellison’s “City On the Edge of Forever.”

You can connect with her via the following social media sites:

Tags:

About pattybones2

I am a self proclaimed fangirl who is disguised as a mild mannered data analyst for an advertising firm.

3 responses to “Interview with Author Veronica Scott”

  1. veronicascott says :

    Reblogged this on Veronica Scott and commented:
    So much fun answering Patty’s questions about WHY and WHAT LOL.

  2. veronicascott says :

    Thanks for having me as your guest! I really enjoyed the questions (and coming up with answers 🙂 )

  3. Diane Burton says :

    Great interview! As I’ve said before, I love your books, Veronica. Trapped is no exception. Your characters are so believable. A great adventure. I smiled at your statement that you’re good in an emergency but fall apart later. Same here. Best wishes..

Leave a Reply

