Interview with Author Dena Garson

It is a pleasure to welcome Dena Garson author of Rege’s Rescue.

Author Dena Garson

Author Dena Garson

Welcome Dena to The Adventures of the Everyday Fangirl and thanks so much for taking the time out your busy schedule to help us get to know you and your story better.

What does the title of this novel, series or set of stories signify?

Cover Reges Rescue

Cover Reges Rescue

Rege’s Rescue had a working title of Sin City because of the song that inspired the book (House of the Rising Sun). I changed it only after finishing the book and realizing that while Rege may have rescued Amethe she was actually saving him from a lonely existence.

Do the names of the characters in your novel have some sort of significance or importance to you?
If so, give a few examples…

I often search names that have meanings that spark something with me with respect to the character. For example, the setting for my book Mystic’s Touch was ancient Egypt so I looked for Egyptian names that had meanings that made me think of my characters. In the case of Rege and Amethe I searched a variety of names and ended up just blindly typing something until I found something that “felt” right. Amethe was actually taken from the word amethyst simply because, well – I like the stone, and it’s said to have healing properties and can give a sense of peace and calm.

What prompted you to write in this genre and who or what inspired you to?

I’m a fan of sci-fi – I grew up on Star Wars, Star Trek, and Doctor Who. I love to read romance. It seemed only natural to combine those two and come out with a sci-fi romance. Rege’s Rescue practically wrote itself after the first scene popped into my head.

What kind of research did you have to do for the novel, series or set of stories that was different from others?

I don’t remember doing any true research (which implies fact finding). I did a lot of digging into sci-fi art for space ships, space ports, and clothing inspirations to help build my scenes though.

What makes you laugh?

A lot of things – My kittens’ antics chasing balls of trash or that mystical red dot. My boys’ silly jokes and even their farts. Friends relating funny happenings. Silly memes on Facebook. I love to laugh. I think we should all do more of it!

What makes you cry?

I rarely cry, but I will tear up over deep emotion – either really sad, like loss of a loved one or lost love, or overwhelmingly happy stuff like winning a writing contest.

What are you a fan of and is this reflected in your writing?

If you mean tv/movies and/or music I love Doctor Who, Big Bang Theory, Firefly, the Marvel Universe (but I admit that Aquaman has me looking over that DC wall these days!!). I listen to hard rock (original hair-band fan here!) and go to lots of concerts each year. I am also a loyal Dallas Cowboys fan and watch more pro football than my boys. I suppose it’s reflected in my writing to the extent that music inspires me and affects my mood and I love the characters I see in my favorite movies and tv shows.

Thank you again Dena for stopping by and letting us get to know you and your latest story better!
###
Dena Garson is an award winning author of contemporary, paranormal, fantasy, and sci-fi romance. Her sixth book, Mystic’s Touch, won the 2015 Passionate Plume for Futuristic/Fantasy/Sci-Fi as well as the 2015 Reader’s Choice Award for Science Fiction/Fantasy/Time Travel. Ghostly Persuasion finaled in the 2014 Passionate Plume and the 2014 Reader’s Choice Award. Your Wild Heart finaled in the 2016 Passionate Plume for Paranormal Romance.

When she isn’t writing you can find her at her jewelry workbench playing with beads. She is also a devoted Whovian and Dallas Cowboys fan.You can find out more about Dena and her stories by visiting her Website, Blog, Facebook Page, Facebook Author page, Twitter, Goodreads or you can signup for her Newsletter.

Tags:

About pattybones2

I am a self proclaimed fangirl who is disguised as a mild mannered data analyst for an advertising firm.

Leave a Reply

