Interview with Author JC Hay

It is a pleasure to welcome JC Hay author of DUBAI Double Cross.

Welcome JC to The Adventures of the Everyday Fangirl and thanks so much for taking the time out your busy schedule to help us get to know you and your story better.

DUBAI Double Cross

DUBAI Double Cross

What does the title of this novel, series or set of stories signify?

I’ve included a place name in each of the titles in the series – largely because cyberpunk stories tend to use generic western cities, and I wanted to call attention to other great centers of technology. Dubai, for example, is very technology forward – they just started another big tech incubation project that is geared to design the future.

What inspired you to write in this genre?

I like to joke that I blame the animated series Robotech. Sure there are transforming robots, and giant aliens, and sweeping space battles, but there’s also a hideously complicated, often messy and realistic love triangle at the center of that story. love literally conquers all by the end. That really set me up to expect romance in my science fiction, and to start writing it as well. I’ve never looked back.
For cyberpunk aesthetic, though, I have to blame Blade Runner – the combination of futuristic and 40s-era retro really spoke to me.

What are the most important attributes to remaining sane as a writer and do your characters reflect some of these attributes?

Patience, planning, and the ability to roll with it if something changes. This is an industry that is constantly changing and shifting, whether it’s a change in billing algorithms or characters who take off to do their own thing mid-story, you have to be flexible enough to bend and not break. I like to think Elise – the heroine in Dubai Double-Cross – has a lot of those same traits. She’s a meticulous planner, but always has the ability to adapt as new information comes in.

What kind of research did you have to do for the novel, series or set of stories that was different from others?

This series is the first time I used a real-world place as a setting. Even eighty years in the future, there are going to be elements of the city that haven’t changed. I had to do a lot of research to get the cities to feel right, and I hope I’ve been able to do them justice.

What makes you laugh?

I love sloth videos. If I find I’m feeling overwhelmed, I have a set of them bookmarked. I can’t watch them without smiling and feeling better. I really ought to put a sloth in one of my stories…

What are you a fan of and is this reflected in your writing?

Happy Endings! Seriously – I read and write romance because I like to see people find their happily ever after. Especially people who are not the “typical” romance heroes and heroines. One of the reasons I like cyberpunk is that it gives me a reason to pull in the thieves and hackers who aren’t usually front and center in a romance story, and give them their own true loves.
I’m also a fan of technology in general – I read way too many futurist journals and blogs. They give me a never ending set of inspirations for innovative tech and twists.

Thank you again JC for stopping by and letting us get to know you and your latest story better!

###

Author JC Hay

Author JC Hay

JC Hay writes romantic science fiction and space opera, because the coolest gadgets in the world are useless without someone to share them.

In addition to Romance Writers of America, he is also a proud member of the SFR Brigade (for Science Fiction Romance), the Fantasy, Futuristic, and Paranormal Romance chapter, and a proud member of RWA’s PAN (the published authors network).

DUBAI Double Cross

DUBAI Double Cross


His newest novella – Dubai Double-Cross – is the first story in the Corporate Services series, a set of connected cyberpunk romances set eighty years in our future where the limits of humanity are being stretched and tested. You can purchase your copy here.  

You can find out more about JC Hay via…

Website: http://jchay.com
Facebook: facebook.com/AuthorJCHay
Twitter: @j_c_hay

Tags:

About pattybones2

I am a self proclaimed fangirl who is disguised as a mild mannered data analyst for an advertising firm.

Leave a Reply

