Interview with Author SA Hoag

It is a pleasure to welcome S.A. Hoag author of The Wildblood series.

Welcome S.A. to The Adventures of the Everyday Fangirl and thanks so much for taking the time out your busy schedule to help us get to know you and your stories better.

img_0176

The Wildblood Series

What does the title of this novel, series or set of stories signify?

The Wildblood are genetically engineered humans, and a very specific set of these ‘Gen Ens’. Before World War Three, a tiny percentage of them slipped away from the corporations that created them. Most were accidental. A few were not. The Vista: Book 1 of The Wildblood starts nearly two decades after the war, concentrating on an isolated city of a few thousand that gathered there after and rebuilt what they could. The original survivors are content with their lives. Their children, however, are not. They want to break their isolation, and to know what the outside world is.

Some of these children, adults now, are different. Most are unaware. The trio that know have gone to great lengths to hide themselves, to hide their secret from the rest of The Vista, Problem is, there’s someone dangerous, someone from the outside, that knows what they are.

Do the names of the characters in your novel have some sort of significance or importance to you?

The original draft of The Vista was written a very long time ago (c. 1998), and I don’t specifically remember naming the characters.

What prompted you to write in this genre and who or what inspired you to?

I’ve loved reading and watching post-apocalyptic for ever. Writing it just seemed the natural thing to do next. After reading the draft that had set in a box for ages, I can say watching Mad Max (the original one) had a decent amount of influence on The Vista, to a point. Then the characters took over and went off with their own ideas. (PS – I loved the remake.)

What kind of research did you have to do for the novel, series or set of stories that was different from others?

The research was interesting. Weapons, wilderness survival, nuclear winter, gardening in the Rocky Mountains. I skipped genetic engineering because I think my brain would have exploded.

What makes you laugh?

Funny stuff. Monty Python is brilliant.

What makes you cry?

Anything that makes my kids cry.

What are you a fan of and is this reflected in your writing?

Sci-fi! Star Trek, Star Wars, I could go on. There are subtle references to several in The Vista.

What else would you like readers of the Everyday Fangirl blog to know about yourself and your stories?

I knew before I got to high school that I wanted to write books. I did, too, dozens of short stories I thought someday I’d turn into novels. Oh, how I wish I had those spiral notebooks full of wild ideas and teenage musings.

I still have the ideas from many of those stories – some of them make me cringe. There are always new ideas too. Some are amazing, some are just silly. A few will become more than ideas as I add books to my list of those that are published.

For now, I live in the desert and many nights, in between writing and sleep, you can find me out watching the stars. It’s dark, out here in the desert and I can see so many stars that weren’t there before. I make time to write now. The tiny seeds of stories demand that I write them down. I hope you enjoy reading them as much as I enjoy creating them.
img_0175
The Wildblood series is available in both ebook and paperback formats. My latest release, Renegades The Wildblood Book 2, is available starting October 20, 2016.  Check out my website, http://www.topaz08.com, for the latest news and updates on The Wildblood series.

Thank you so much S.A. for stopping by and letting us get to know you better.

Tags: ,

About pattybones2

I am a self proclaimed fangirl who is disguised as a mild mannered data analyst for an advertising firm.

Leave a Reply

