Interview with Author Jay Shaw

It is a pleasure to welcome Jay Shaw author of The Hunted.


Welcome Jay to The Adventures of the Everyday Fangirl and thanks so much for taking the time out your busy schedule to help us get to know you and your stories better.

What does the title of this novel, series or set of stories signify?

The Hunted refers to the human X2 gene carriers who are being hunted by the Arcadians as part of their plans for galactic supremacy; but it’s also a nod to the demons we all carry within us. The ghosts from our pasts, and the expectations of whatever society we inhabit. Everyone has something someone else covets and desires, and there’ll always be those who are prepared to go to great lengths to obtain what they want, no matter the cost.
Gosh, I just read over that and it sounds heavy, I promise there’s romance in there too, lol.

What prompted you to write in this genre and who or what inspired you to?

Ever since I first saw Star Wars I’ve been in love with the romance and otherworldly action of science fiction, the what if and the wonder of worlds undiscovered, and sexy space pilots – let’s not be forgetting them. Science Fiction, and Fantasy, provide a playground and scope for my imagination to play in. It allows me to create worlds and characters in glorious technicolour, so when you look up to the stars at night, maybe, just maybe, you’ll wonder what my characters are up to, what new adventures, hardships, love, and mysteries are befalling them out in the vast ocean of space, in galaxies you’ve never heard of but long to explore…Ahem, yes, well, you see what I mean. I’m completely hooked.

What are the most important attributes to remaining sane as a writer and do your characters reflect some of these attributes?

Honestly, I’ve got no clue. I don’t consider myself to be all that sane. My characters talk to me at all hours of the day and night, they argue about what their dialogue should be and they demand to have their own books. But determination, honesty, a rock solid vision of the journey and how you’ll get there, even when the road is rough and paved with naysayers, a sense of humor, and an ability to function on four to five hours sleep come in handy. My characters do tend to reflect some or all of these attributes in varying degrees. Whether they’re aware of it or not is a different story, and sometimes the reason for the story in the first place. A character’s growth is something we all enjoy, especially if we can relate it back to our own lives in some way.

What kind of research did you have to do for the novel, series or set of stories that was different from others?

For the Dragonus Chronicles series I haven’t had to do traditional research, since I created the world from scratch. If I need something I imagine it and create its pros and cons based on what I need it to do or be within the story. I think the most research is on weaponry so that I have comparisons on which to base my made up ones. Readers are intelligent and most of the time if a character accepts something as part of their world then the reader will too. In The Space Colonel’s Woman (Dragonus Chronicles I) the main character is a search and rescue chopper pilot, so I watched a lot of those ride-along TV shows so I could learn the radio lingo and their operating procedures while caring for patients. Mostly, it’s more about remembering which spaceships you blew up, and what physical attributes belong to which character. This last is extremely important when working with an entire galaxy of players.

Wolfhaven (book one of Duality) had me looking up the hierarchy of wolves, their global territories, and images of isolated Alaskan towns.

In the new year I’m beginning a series of stand-alone contemporary romances. The first of which is set in Africa in the world of rhino poaching – not an area of personal expertise, so there’ll be plenty of research for that one.

What makes you laugh?

This is the hardest question ever, lol!
I think I’ll have to go with the spontaneous laughter brought on by good food and drink, and having family and friends around.
Oh, and the seatbelt scene from Robin Williams’ movie RV

What makes you cry?

Stubbing my toe
The opening scene of Star Trek 2009 – every single time I watch it!
Chopping onions
Happy endings
Sad endings
Characters connecting in a beautifully crafted moment

What are you a fan of and is this reflected in your writing?

Food, music, books, movies. Whenever a character needs any of these and it fits, the one that appears in the story will invariably be one of my favorites; or in the case of food, whatever I’m hungry for at the time of writing. As a reader I’m a fan of feeling as if I’m right next to the characters on their adventures. I like to include texture in my writing, if the sun’s shining, I want to feel the heat of it on my shoulders, breathe in the dry air, and squint because it’s reflecting off the crystal buildings of the alien city on the horizon. Every little visual helps with the illusion of escape.

Thank you again Jay so much for stopping by and letting us get to know you and your latest story better!
###

The Hunted by Jay Shaw

The Hunted by Jay Shaw

The Hunted, A Dragonus Chronicles story
Abducted without a trace, Colonel Mark Holden remains in the clutches of Arcadia’s Grand Chancellor – a maniacal dictator who continues to enslave and experiment on X2 humans.

Meanwhile, far away on an alternate reality Earth, Julia Holden lives a life she no longer belongs to. She spends her days rescuing those who cannot save themselves, and pining for her lost love.

Can the Arcadians achieve galactic domination, or will Hayden rescue Mark before his genetic secrets are stolen?
And when Phoenix City calls, will Mark and Julia return to fight for the hunted?

Jay Shaw is a New Zealand author, a mum of two teens, and a lover of books. She’s an incurable romantic who stays up early and sleeps in late, writes in bed, loves both action and romance movies, survives on a diet of M&Ms, bottled water, and steak with mushroom sauce.
Jay has a preference for tall, dark-haired, military men in thigh holsters and combat boots, but isn’t opposed to the occasional shirtless cowboy in tight denim.
Her favorite books to write are fantasy and sci-fi stories about characters who will ultimately find their one great love. A love all of time and space will lie down and be still for.
You can find out more about Jay Shaw and her stories by visiting her Facebook page, Amazon Author Page, Goodreads Author Page, and of course on Pinterest.

About pattybones2

I am a self proclaimed fangirl who is disguised as a mild mannered data analyst for an advertising firm.

Leave a Reply

