Interview with a Fangirl: Caz


I am continuing with my series of interviews with Fangirls that I have met through social media!

Today, it is a great pleasure to interview fellow Fangirl, Caz Gardiner aka @radioryloth on Twitter.


I became aware of Caz through the Star Wars Fan Community. Especially through the articles she writes for the fan site, FutureoftheForce.com.

Welcome Caz to The Adventures of The Everyday Fangirl. It is an honor that you took the time to answer these questions about being a Fangirl.

Thanks for the opportunity!

When do you realize you were a Fangirl?

I think I was always a fangirl for something! It hasn’t always been Star Wars (although that was always in the background during my childhood.) It’s been music, various TV shows, books, even historical periods sometimes. I’ve always consistently been fascinated by science fiction and utopia/dystopia situations in fiction. I think over the last 5 years I realised I was in deep with Star Wars, I started getting really geeky about the details lots of people weren’t interested in so I guess that’s when I knew!!

How has social media helped or hindered you?

I’m quite new to Twitter and I’m finding it a good experience so far. I use it to chat about the things I’m passionate about, keep up with announcements and read articles, although I should probably spend less time on that and more time on my own writing, or reading books! It’s nice to reach out and connect to people that share my interests.

When did you first see Star Wars or other favorite fandom, such as Star Trek, Lord of The Rings,
etc. and did you love it right away or did this grow on you over time?

I saw Star Wars when I was a kid and we used to watch it repeatedly, its just always been there, I never questioned whether I liked it or not. The prequels I saw at the cinema. I guess that universe has grown on me over time to the point I’ve reached now. The turning point was probably watching The Clone Wars for the first time and just getting totally obsessed with it.

What have you learned from the Star Wars fan community or other fan communities that has
had a positive impact on your life?

It’s really nice to realise it’s not just me getting frustrated about some aspects of Star Wars. I’m happy to see lots of people speaking up about representation, both in the stories themselves and within the visible fan community, and it has given me the confidence to raise my voice too.

What else do you fangirl about?

Doctor Who, X-Files, Battlestar Galactica, Fringe, Buffy, Angel, Harry Potter, Dystopian fiction, 80’s cartoons, lots of different types of music.

About Caz Gardiner

Caz lives in London is a mum, cellist, sometimes guitarist and singer, feminist, aspiring teacher, writes about Star Wars as Radio Ryloth for futureoftheforce.com. You can follow her via Twitter @radioryloth or Facebook http://www.facebook.com/radioryloth.

About pattybones2

I am a self proclaimed fangirl who is disguised as a mild mannered data analyst for an advertising firm.

Leave a Reply

