Interview with a Fangirl: Amy Ratcliffe


I am continuing with my series of interviews with Fangirls that I have met through social media!

Today, it is a great pleasure to interview writer, podcast co-host and fellow Fangirl, Amy Ratcliffe.


I first became aware of Amy through the Full of Sith Podcast and of course following her Fangirl adventures via Twitter.

Welcome Amy to The Adventures of The Everyday Fangirl. It is an honor that you took the time to answer these questions about being a Fangirl.

When do you realize you were a Fangirl?

Hmm. Probably in high school when I scoured Wheel of Time message boards and participated in a related roleplaying community. Or maybe later when I became addicted to a Battlestar Galactica fan group on Live Journal. I don’t know if I can pinpoint the exact moment.

How has social media helped or hindered you?

Social media has definitely helped me find likeminded individuals. One of the reasons I signed up for Twitter was to connect with other ladies who also enjoyed Star Wars. I ended up meeting all of my closest friends (who are local to me) on Twitter first. It’s made it easier for me to get to know others at conventions because I’ve already established an online relationship of sorts with them.

When did you first see Star Wars or other favorite fandom, such as Star Trek, Lord of The Rings, etc. and did you love it right away or did this grow on you over time?

I first saw Star Wars when I was in high school. I was 16. My high school boyfriend wanted to see the rereleases in the theater, and I was curious. I loved them, but I didn’t fall head over heels in love with Star Wars until many years later when Star Wars: The Clone Wars debuted.
My first sci-fi experience was Star Trek: The Next Generation, and though I enjoyed it, I never latched onto Star Trek like I did with Star Wars.
My first fandom was probably Wheel of Time. I picked up those books early in high school and devoured them. I later joined fan sites – I think one was called the White Tower – and devoured theories. I longed to be an Aes Sedai.

What have you learned from the Star Wars fan community or other fan communities that has had a positive impact on your life?

The Star Wars fan community constantly enriches me. For the most part, it’s a positive and energetic group that discusses and creates. The creativity always astounds me, whether it’s a theory I’ve never considered before or seeing handmade costumes and models. They inspire me to be welcoming and to do my part to contribute positivity.

What else do you Fangirl about?

Oh man. Fangirling about Star Wars takes up a lot of my energy and free time, but I’m also quite enthusiastic about: Disney, Disneyland, Lord of the Rings/The Hobbit, Supernatural, Battlestar Galactica, Harry Potter, most shows on The CW, and Doctor Who.

Anything else you want to say to others about being a Fangirl?

Never be afraid to express yourself about what you like. Don’t suffer fools or gatekeepers. Most importantly, have fun.

Amy Ratcliffe is a writer and geek passionate about Star Wars, Disney, and coffee. You can find her work at Nerdist, StarWars.com, IGN and in Star Wars Insider magazine. Follow her fangirl adventures via Twitter or Instagram.

About pattybones2

I am a self proclaimed fangirl who is disguised as a mild mannered data analyst for an advertising firm.

Leave a Reply

