Interview with a Fangirl: Ash


I am continuing with my series of interviews with Fangirls that I have met through social media!

Today, it is a great pleasure to interview fellow Fangirl, Ash, aka ‪@ErsatzAsh ‬via Twitter.

Fangirl Ash

I became aware of Ash through the Star Wars Fan Community and The Skyhoppers Podcast.

Welcome Ash to The Adventures of The Everyday Fangirl. It is an honor that you took the time to answer these questions about being a Fangirl.

When did you begin to realize you were a Fangirl?

I’ve always been very vocal about my love of nerdy things. I remember not being able to to shut up about Star Wars and Marvel when I was a kid and I still can’t (That’s why I have a Star Wars podcast). I think the realization that I was a fangirl happened my freshman year in high school. I discovered that I cared about these things a lot more than most of the population and like most confused fourteen year olds I desperately wanted to be accepted and I didn’t think I would be with my interests, so for about 6 months I tried to convince myself that I was more interested in football than Jedi ( I lived in Texas) and I was miserable. Then I found a wonderful group of friends that accepted me completely and eventually convinced me that it was OK to be unashamed about things I love. They introduced me to Tumblr and went on from there.

How has social media helped or hindered you?

It has helped me so much, I’ve met some of my best friends online and just having a community of people who love the same stuff I do is fantastic and now with the podcast we have an awesome community of listeners that we get to interact with. We are also in the Star Wars Commonwealth Podcast Network which is an amazing group of people I get to nerd out with daily.

When did you first see Star Wars and did you love it right away or did this grow on you over time?

My first memory of Star Wars is when my Dad took me to Attack of The Clones and I almost immediately fell in love with everything about it. I think it made my family finally give up there crusade to get me to love Barbies, because every year after that I’ve received a Star Wars action figure for my birthday.

What have you learned from the Star Wars fan community or other fan communities that has had a positive impact on your life?

I have discovered that Star Wars has had a tremendous impact on so many different people from every possible background and that people who would have normally never thought of initiating a conversation have formed life long friendships over a mutual love of Star Wars. I met one of my best friends because he came up to me at a comic book store and said he liked my Star Wars t-shirt.

What else do you Fangirl about?

Indiana Jones and Marvel Comics

Anything else you want to say to others about being a Fangirl?

Don’t feel even a miniscule amount of shame for the things you love. There will always be people who try to make you feel bad, but there will also be people who encourage and support you 100 percent!

Ash is a massive Star Wars fangirl and co-host of The Skyhoppers Podcast where they talk about anything and everything Star Wars related whether it’s Canon or not. Find out more via @SWSkyhoppers

Tags:

About pattybones2

I am a self proclaimed fangirl who is disguised as a mild mannered data analyst for an advertising firm.

Leave a Reply

