Interview with a Fangirl: Kat


I am continuing with my series of interviews with Fangirls that I have met through social media!

Today, it is a great pleasure to interview fellow Fangirl, Kat.

Kat is a college senior, hoping to pursue a career in the film industry after graduation. She adores movies, tv, and all things scifi. She writes regularly on these topics for her school newspaper.  I became aware of Kat through my interaction with her through both the Star Wars and Doctor Who Fan Communities.

Welcome Kat to The Adventures of The Everyday Fangirl. It is an honor that you took the time to answer these questions about being a Fangirl.

When do you realize you were a Fangirl?

I think in some ways I was always a fangirl. I have a naturally obsessive and passionate personality for better or worse. I never really channeled it into positive outlets until a few years ago when I fell in love with science fiction. I’d always avoided a lot of it because I’m afraid of space and I figured it would upset me. But it turns out it does the complete opposite, and I’ve found lots of inspiration from it instead. I realized I’d officially turned into a fangirl when I showed up to the theater premiere of Doctor Who series 8 dressed in Doctor Who gear from head to toe and my friend had to tell me to “turn down.” (I haven’t turned down, not even a little).

How has social media helped or hindered you?

Oh gosh social media has been the best. It’s sometimes hard to find people in person who like the same things to the same degree. I mean lots of people like stuff, but not as many live and breathe the stuff they like. That’s where Tumblr and Twitter come in, for me. There’s always a community of people on there that is passionate about the same things. There’s always someone eager to discuss the fresh news on our favorite franchises. Oh and the memes. The memes are incredible.

Kat with the late Carrie Fisher

Kat with the late Carrie Fisher

When did you first see Star Wars or other favorite fandom, such as Star Trek, Lord of The Rings, etc. and did you love it right away or did this grow on you over time?

I grew up on Star Wars. I made up songs about it as a little kid and forced my family to listen to my terrible rhymes. As I grew up, I lost touch with fandom. I had a lot of issues with mental health as a teenager and young adult which took precedence. But as I got better a few years ago, I came back to fangirling and now it’s basically my life. I still adore Star Wars, and fall more in love with it with each new release. I’m a big Trekkie, which is probably my hardest fandom to find in person friends for. Marvel is my most recent obsession. I love most science fiction and fantasy things, but those are the ones that I obsess over most. A lot of times I’ll see something for the first time and like it, but I won’t get hooked until the second watch.

What have you learned from the Star Wars fan community or other fan communities that has had a positive impact on your life?

The greatest impact being in these fan communities has had on me is on my confidence. There used to be so much shame surrounding being a fangirl. I spent a while being too ashamed to talk about the things I loved. But being in touch with these communities both in person and through the internet has taught me to be proud of my passions. I no longer hesitate to divulge my interests when asked and I even start my own conversations about it now. And being able to do that has allowed me to make friends more easily. I wear all kinds of geeky clothing, which can be a really useful conversation starter. I also go to cons and am developing my cosplay skills. Attending a con is one of the greatest feelings of acceptance I’ve ever felt. Everyone there is on your team. I always try to carry that out into the real world when I leave.

What else do you Fangirl about?

I’m really into movie scores and I fangirl about my favorite scores and composers. I can get quite worked up about it.

Where can other Fangirls connect with you? 

You can find me on Twitter or Instagram @moviescoregirl.

Tags:

About pattybones2

I am a self proclaimed fangirl who is disguised as a mild mannered data analyst for an advertising firm.

Leave a Reply

