Fanboys who Support Fangirls: Interview with Mike E

Welcome to another installment of the interviews with Fanboys who Support Fangirls series.

Mike E with his wife and daughter

Mike E with his wife and daughter

Today, The Adventures of the Everyday Fangirl interviews Fanboy Mike Ehmcke about his efforts to support Fangirls.  I met Mike. E through our interaction via the Skywalking Through Neverland Facebook group and through his WeBeGeeks Podcast Network.  Thank you so much Mike for stopping by The Adventures of the Everyday today to let us know more about you and about your efforts to support Fangirls!

What fandoms are you a fanboy of and for how long?

I am a major Star Wars fan but also a fan of all sci-fi, Hockey, comics and podcast. It has been my live as I have known since I was 4. The New Teen Titans by Wolfman and Perez got me through many a move.

Where did you first learn about Fangirls?

On Facebook

Who are the Fangirls you support?

First and foremost, my wife and daughter. After that any woman willing to dive into the world of fandom/geekdom and is legit about it.

What do you do to support Fangirls?

With my podcasts, I help try and pitch to make things equal for fangirls, Supergirl costumes don’t need to have red switched out to pink because the industry dictates that is what girls/women want.

How has social media helped or hindered you in this effort?

Social media is great because I can spead word of the cause whenever I want whether folks listen/read and respond or not.

Anything else you want to say to others about being a Fanboy who supports Fangirls?

It is a Geek Revolution and everyone is needed male or female. But it fun hearing my daughter tell me she knows about about different pop culture things than any boy in her class and she is not the only girl to know. I am glad to see the diversity and what to see it continue to grow.

Thanks again Mike for letting us get to know you better and what you do to support Fangirls, like myself.

You can learn more about Mike Ehmcke by ‬‬‬checking out the WeBeGeeks Network, which includes the We Be Geeks, Mighty Marvel Geeks and Wookiee Radio podcasts.

Tags:

About pattybones2

I am a self proclaimed fangirl who is disguised as a mild mannered data analyst for an advertising firm.

Leave a Reply

