Agony and Excitement at SWCO

Agony and Excitement at SWCO

Well I have experienced two days of Star Wars Celebration Orlando.  For me this experience has been both frustrating and exciting.

The Agony: Lines

At any convention you expect lots of lines, but Day One of the Star Wars Celebration Orlando is the worst I have ever experienced.

EverydayFangirl waiting in line to get in the doors

EverydayFangirl waiting in line to get in the doors

My husband and I arrived to the convention center on Day One at just after 5:45AM. Due to the organizers having a single entry point into the Convention Center, the line to just get in through security was over 1 hour and 45 minutes and those that arrived later, experienced much longer wait than we did.

Many of us were waiting in the woods just before dawn

Many of us were waiting in the woods just before dawn

Even when we finally got into the event, there were lines everywhere, even the vending machines had a line.

Want line for vending machine

Want line for vending machine

Fortunately, ReedPOP was able to correct some of these long line experiences very quickly.  Day Two went smoother with less lines getting in due to having multiple entry points.

The Excitement: Seeing and Meeting Social Media Friends

Despite all the lines, my favorite moments of the event so far is meeting and hanging out with friends who I only knew through social media.  This is one of the reasons that going to an event like this is worth all the agony that might be encountered.

Just a few of my exciting encounters with Social Media friends

Just a few of my exciting encounters with Social Media friends

 

I am looking forward to the next two days and find out what adventures and of course, the people I will discover while wandering around Star Wars Celebration.

I will be continuing to post my adventures here and of course via Twitter @PattyBones2.
Are you at Star Wars Celebration Orlando?

What adventures have you experienced?

Tags:

About pattybones2

I am a self proclaimed fangirl who is disguised as a mild mannered data analyst for an advertising firm.

Leave a Reply

