Everyday Fangirl Asks: First Star Wars Collectible

First Star Wars Collectible

May 25th marks the 40th Anniversary of the release of Star Wars and of course the beginning of the Star Wars merchandising revolution.

I asked my friends in the various Facebook Groups I belong to what was their first Star Wars Collectible.
Pippa Jay
I bought a Battle Damage X-wing with birthday money. Unfortunately my sister broke it by slamming it against a door. I hung onto it for 20 years before accepting I’d never be able to fix it. Items I’ve owned the longest – an intact B-wing and a slightly damaged Y-wing (though I still have the often missing missile) which I’ve had for 30 years.

Cynthia Sax
I bought an R2D2 action figure after the first Star Wars released. We were very poor. We didn’t eat every day. (Yes, in North America, that still happens.) So it was a huge investment for me and one my parents didn’t approve of. All five of my siblings played with that R2D2 also. We loved that action figure into nothing. I move quite a bit and don’t currently have any Star Wars merchandise.

Laurie A. Green
Over 20 years ago, I bought a huge framed poster for my office wall that says “Everything I Need to Know About Life I Learned from Star Wars.” It features artwork of the original cast along with some of the timeless wisdom that’s often been an inspiration to me when I needed it most: “Try not. Do. Or do not. There is no try,” “Anger, fear and aggression lead to the dark side,” and “In seeking your destiny, patience is your ally.” A lot of decor has come and gone from my office walls over the years, but this poster still remains.

Jean Walker
A Star Wars bath towel, with the artwork from the movie poster. We still have it, although it’s VERY threadbare and we never use it any more.

Athena Grayson
My Star Wars Sheets that we got in the late 70’s(?) I remember having them on my bunk bed, and we got rid of that when I was 7 or 8 and almost fell out a window when I fell out of bed (which I apparently did a lot as a kid…which explains some things… To this day, I am still a flailer).
My mom and dad threw out all the Kenner stuff. To this day, the entire family is kicking ourselves over it.

Lindsay Buroker
I bought just about all of the books when they started coming out. I don’t think I’ve ever bought any toys or anything like that.

Pauline Baird Jones
Yeah, the Timonty Zahn books remain favs of mine in the SW universe.

Melissa Aires
When my kids were preschoolers I was SAHM with a limited budget for books. We went to many yard sales and at one I picked up a whole box of Star Wars paperbacks. I read them then mailed them to my brothers up in Montana–my oldest brother still has them, along with his huge scifi paperback collection..

Chris Wescott
An R2-D2 cookie jar and I still have it, but after I saw the price they’re asking for one on e-bay, I might be tempted to sell it.

Lynn Watson Smith
Jedi Master’s Quiz Book when I was a probably around 16 years old. I still have it decades later.

Andrea Cardinalle Vetter
Ok, I am showing my age, but I purchased the movie when it first came out on VHS. Oh, and the comic books that came out every week at the local grocery store.

Darlene Reilley
An R2D2 alarm clock. No, I sold it for five times the cost. The longest owned Star Wars item is a pair of earrings crafted by a friend. I’ve had them for twenty years and they aren’t going anywhere.

Jayne Fury
When New Hope came out (in the1970s) I was in the lines that first day and I purchased the playbill in the theatre lobby. I had it up until a few years ago when it got lost in a move. It had movie stills, design sketches, and cast and director bios. I hauled that thing around with me for thirty years or so until it was lost :/

From The Cantina Cast

Tom Burke
It’s horrible to say but I remember quite well going to this local toy store, in 1980, with my two other 9 year old friends and while 2 caused a disturbance in another aisle, one would use pocket knife to separate clamshell from cardboard and then pocket a few SW figures under this method. This may have occurred a few times over that summer

Honestly I think the first thing I bought with my own $ was a simple black hat with the SW Logo on it from Suncoast Video (remember those in the mall?) like the one worn by C Thomas Howell in ‘Red Dawn’

One of my oldest & favorite pieces is the program my father got me at the theater in 1977. My brother in law gave me 35mm film reel for trailer of ‘The Phantom Menace’ and poster from the lobby (from theater he worked at) and of course my original glasses from Burger King

Andy Leavy
I bought a Lightning McQueen Toy Car that was made to look like Rebel Pilot Luke

Eric Gijsbertus Onkenhout
I remember my first ever Star Wars figure was a Stormtrooper that I still have. Then as an adult I remember raiding Toys R Us in 1995 for POTF2 figures.

Joao Stinson
Honestly the first Star Wars thing I ever owned was probably the Pepsi product cans in 1999. Then I got a Darth Maul poster sometime after that. Remember, your co-host of the Cantina Cast didn’t actually watch the films until the release in 1997, as I was born in 1982, it kind of was just past my childhood, so I got in late.

Paul DePaola
I only have one of my vintage figures and it’s my favorite. It’s the vintage Anakin Skywalker ghost mail-away figure. It constantly reminds me of all the larger meanings behind the saga.

About pattybones2

I am a self proclaimed fangirl who is disguised as a mild mannered data analyst for an advertising firm.

Leave a Reply

