Interview with a Fangirl: Christina

I am continuing with my series of interviews with Fangirls that I have met through social media!

Today, it is my pleasure to interview fellow fangirl, Christina Fung, who blogs about HER Star Wars Story at http://www.mschristinafung.com.

Christina proudly wears her favorite HerUniverse Star Wars tee!

Christina proudly wears her favorite HerUniverse Star Wars tee!

I first became aware of Christina through her love of Her Universe and Star Wars via her Twitter, @StarWarsisLove.

Welcome Christina to The Adventures of The Everyday Fangirl and thank you for taking the time to answer these questions about being a Fangirl.

When do you realize you were a Fangirl?

I first realized that I was a fangirl when I was around 15-years-old and I re-discovered Star Wars.

How has social media helped or hindered you?

Social media has helped me discover other fans and connect with them. When I was younger I used to think that I was the only girl who liked Star Wars, but though social media I found out that I wasn’t alone – not by a long shot!

When did you first see Star Wars or other favorite fandom, such as Star Trek, Lord of The Rings, etc. and did you love it right away or did this grow on you over time?

I have vague memories of watching The Empire Strikes Back on TV with my dad when I was young, but after that I pretty much forgot about it. When I became a teenager I saw a magazine cover with the cast from Attack of the Clones and it piqued my curiosity. I bought the magazine (which I still have) and spent the entire summer learning everything I could about Star Wars. I’ve been a fan ever since.

What have you learned from the Star Wars fan community or other fan communities that has had a positive impact on your life?

Being a fan doesn’t mean the same thing for everyone, and that is a beautiful thing. Star Wars has an enormous presence and there are so, so many ways that you can be a fan of it. One of the best things about connecting with other fans is getting to learn more about the world of Star Wars though their knowledge of the Star Wars universe. I love getting to know people who are more into the books than I am, or who play different video games than I do. If I had all the time in the world it still wouldn’t be enough to explore all of Star Wars, so getting to know it though other fans is such an incredible thing.

What else do you Fangirl about?

Disney Parks! I love spending time at theme parks in general, but there is just something extra special about Disney. Once upon a time I worked at Disneyland, and I have such fond memories of those days. Now I get to experience Disneyland though my son’s eyes, and I’m so pleased that he loves it just as much as I do. Plus, Disney and Star Wars are so interwoven that it’s hard not to love both.
Also, Firefly. So much love for that series!

Anything else you want to say to others about being a Fangirl?

This is a great time to be a fangirl! Not so long ago it wasn’t cool to be a fan of anything that wasn’t mainstream. Thankfully, times have changed. Now, being a fangirl is mainstream, but because being a fan is unique to each person what being a fangirl really means is that you aren’t afraid to be yourself and share your passions. Be proud of your fandom, if it is what makes you happy then it is part of who you are, and being yourself is always cool.

What cool Fangirl related project or projects are you working on that you would like to share?

The first thing people usually find out about me is that I like Star Wars, a lot. I’m in the process of trying to join the 501st so that I can do charity work and geek out about Star Wars at the same time.  I wear my fandom on my sleeve and occasionally blog about it at mschristinafung.com and of course you can follow me on twitter as @StarWarsisLove to learn what other awesome Fangirl things I am doing!

About Patty Hammond

I am a self proclaimed fangirl who is disguised as a mild mannered data analyst for an advertising firm. You can find me on Twitter as @pattybones2

Leave a Reply

