Interview with a Fangirl: Sophie

I am continuing with my series of interviews with Fangirls that I have met through social media!

Today, it is my pleasure to interview fellow fangirl, Sophie Lawrence, who writes and podcasts about Star Wars, especially the Legends stories, for a variety of outlets.


I became aware of Sophie through Far Far Away Radio and of course through her posts on twitter account, @shlawrence12.

Welcome Sophie to The Adventures of The Everyday Fangirl and thank you for taking the time to answer these questions about being a Fangirl.

When did you realise that you were a fangirl?

I think I have been a geek all my life, but it developed into something much more defining when I decided to set up my blog Outer Rim Reviews last year. I realised that I had so much to say about Star Wars and the books that I loved, that I needed a platform to express that love and wasn’t just content with reading the books by myself! From there, I have started a podcast Bright Tree Radio with my husband, and I write blog posts for Far Far Away Radio – I basically just can’t stop talking about Star Wars!

How has social media helped or hindered you?

Social media has been a massive help to me. Without it, there would be no way people would read my blog or listen to the podcast. There is something really special about knowing that people are reading what you have written and that you aren’t simply throwing words out into ‘the void’ so to speak! Not only that, I have met some wonderful people online and developed some great friendships. For so long I had been geeking out by myself so it’s been absolutely wonderful to talk to people who are just as passionate about Star Wars as me!

When did you first see Star Wars or other favourite fandom such as Star Trek, Lord of the Rings, etc and did you love it right away or did this grow on you over time?

I actually don’t remember the first time I saw Star Wars, I was introduced to it so young it’s always been part of my life I can however clearly remember having pretend lightsaber fights with my brother in the garden (I was always Luke!). I also grew up watching Star Trek Voyager, and with hindsight I suspect Captain Janeway was a key factor in my love of strong ladies bossing it in space!

What have you learned from the Star Wars fan community or other fan communities that has had a positive impact on your life?

I’m still relatively new to the community as I’ve only really been ‘active’ since the beginning of the year, so I think I am learning every day! I think I’ve learned that there is not only a fantastic community of fans out there, but particularly fangirls. The Star Wars fangirls are some of the most passionate and driven women I’ve had the pleasure to interact with and I find them all so inspirational. Not only that, but these fangirls are so encouraging and supportive of each other it’s amazing!

What else do you fangirl about?

I fangirl about a lot of things! I often think that Star Wars is part of my soul, and if that’s the case then I would say that my heart belongs to Harry Potter! I am a Ravenclaw who is one with the force! I basically grew up with both and they have had a huge impact on my life. Other than that, I can also be found obsessing over Firefly, Game of Thrones, Lord of the Rings, Battlestar Galactica, Sailor Moon, Cardcaptor Sakura and Final Fantasy (not necessarily in that order!)

Anything else you want to say to others about being a fangirl?

Don’t ever be ashamed of who you are! Be proud of your fandom and grab it with both hands. Life is too short to pretend to be something you’re not. And, most importantly, just have fun with it!

Where can others find and interact with you?

You can catch me on Twitter @shlawrence12. My blog where I am reviewing all the Legends novels is outerrimreviews.wordpress.com and you can find my podcast Bright Tree Radio on podbean where every few weeks we run a special ‘Ladies Night’ episode to celebrate some of the awesome ladies of Star Wars! Finally I also blog for www.farfarawayradio.com!

About pattybones2

I am a self proclaimed fangirl who is disguised as a mild mannered data analyst for an advertising firm.

Leave a Reply

