Fanboys who Support Fangirls: Interview with Dan Berry

“”

Welcome to another installment of the interviews with Fanboys who Support Fangirls series.

Today, The Adventures of the Everyday Fangirl interviews Fanboy Dan Berry about his efforts to support Fangirls. I met through our interaction via the Skywalking Through Neverland Facebook group and through a variety of podcasts. I had the honor of meeting him in person at Star Wars Celebration Orlando.

“”Thank you so much Dan for stopping by The Adventures of the Everyday today to let us know more about you and about your efforts to support Fangirls!

What fandoms are you a fanboy of and for how long?

Well… Star Wars, of course. But, being a product of the 1980’s, the list of awesome franchises that I geek out over is almost limitless. I’d have to say that after Lucasfilm properties, my favorites are Kevin Smith’s ASKEWniverse and “Jay & Silent Bob” films and television series.

When did you first learn about Fangirls?

I remember having classmates as early as kindergarten and even preschool who flew their fangirl flags high, for all types of cool fantasy and sci-fi things.

Who are the Fangirls you support?

First and foremost, my incredible wife Lindsay is a huge nerd, mostly for wizards and hobbits. She also loves Star Wars, of course. I know so many other nerdy women, it’s hard to list them all. I’d say my favorite women to discuss all geeky things with are my friends Casey Cotter and Johnamarie Macias of The Wookiee Gunner.

What do you do to support Fangirls?

I try to keep aware of how women of all ages are represented in the fan community and make efforts to highlight achievements by women with every opportunity I’m given.

How has social media helped or hindered you in this effort?

I firmly believe that much like life itself, social media is what you make of it. I have always enjoyed engaging with men and women from all walks of life, through social media. As long as I put out a positive message, I find one inevitably returns to me.

Anything else you want to say to others about being a Fanboy who supports Fangirl?

My mama taught me to treat a lady with respect. I would impart the same lessons onto anyone who wants to get ahead in life. Women are God’s gifts to man. It’s always right to value them as such. Also… if you think something is cool, odds are a woman had already figured it out before you. They’re not in need of a man’s direction, they know what’s up.

Tell us more about yourself and where we can find you!

I was born in 1981 and raised in sunny Central Florida. I am thrilled to be a host of the ForceCast and hopes to share my love of Star Wars with every stranger I meet. I married the woman of my dreams, Lindsay, in 2015. I am also proud owner of the two greatest kitties in the galaxy, Arwen and Ahsoka. I am also a fan of his hometown NBA team, the Orlando Magic. I also teach percussion and drums to students of all ages and has been a performing musician for most of his life. My favorite Star Wars film is “Episode VI: Return of the Jedi”.  You can find me on Twitter @thedeebear.

About pattybones2

I am a self proclaimed fangirl who is disguised as a mild mannered data analyst for an advertising firm.

4 responses to “Fanboys who Support Fangirls: Interview with Dan Berry”

  1. mademoisellefantasy says :

    As a HUGE fangirl (mostly Marvel) I must say “Thank the 9 realms for finding one man that is a fanboy and thinks fandoms are the bomb!”
    *cough* Sorry I geeked out *cough*
    Really nice post! Thanks for sharing! 🙂

    P.S.: I reblogged this. Hope it’s ok.

  2. mademoisellefantasy says :

    Reblogged this on Mademoiselle FANTASY and commented:
    Finally a fanboy spoke… A really good post by everydayfangirl. Check out the rest of her stuff and maybe some of mine too.

Leave a Reply

