Interview with a Fangirl: Charlotte

I am continuing with my series of interviews with Fangirls that I have met through social media!

Today, it is my pleasure to interview Fangirl Charlotte Errity, a Star Wars-obsessed, travel-obsessed, food-obsessed twenty-something.

Charlotte with actor Haden Christensen

I became aware of Charlotte through the Skytalkers podcast, which she co-hosts with her best friend of over a decade, Caitlin Plesher.

Welcome Charlotte to The Adventures of The Everyday Fangirl and thank you for taking the time to answer these questions about being a Fangirl.

When do you realize you were a Fangirl?

I think I’ve always been one to be “into things”—as in, fully obsessed with movies, TV shows, etc., but it wasn’t until I saw Revenge of the Sith that I became a full on fangirl for Star Wars. I realized there was this whole world people knew about and immersed themselves in, and I wanted to be a part of it too; I wanted to know everything about my favorite characters, what planet they were from, how Star Wars was made, etc. I really never turned back.

How has social media helped or hindered you?

Social media 100% helped me in the Star Wars fandom, and beyond. Even though I knew my co-host of my podcast, Caitlin, for years, our friendship and our presence in the Star Wars community has only grown via social media. On top of that, we’ve met hundred of people in real life and online that also share our love for all things Star Wars. Social media has educated me and has taught me how to be a better, more respectable fan, as well. It’s taught me to understand that everyone has different things they respond to, and that not everyone’s approach to this wide galaxy of Star Wars is the same—those differences strengthen us and, personally, myself as a fan. Of course, as women, we’ve gotten our fair share of trolls and angry, rude comments that are hard to brush off—but for the most part, social media has been an amazingly positive home for me.

When did you first see Star Wars or other favorite fandom, such as Star Trek, Lord of The Rings, etc. and did you love it right away or did this grow on you over time?

I first saw Star Wars in 1999–I saw The Phantom Menace in theaters and I was very young. The podracers were too loud, and we had to leave! So ironic. It wasn’t until I was 10 that my mother forced me to watch the original trilogy. I loved it and what those films stood for. Then, finally, when I was a pre-teen, I saw Revenge of the Sith and immediately responded to that film like no other film I had ever seen before (or since, honestly). My Star Wars fandom has only grown from there, as I discovered all the different mediums that Star Wars lived.

What have you learned from the Star Wars fan community or other fan communities that has had a positive impact on your life?

I’ve learned that a diversity of opinions is truly beneficial for the fan community. I’ve learned to be more authentically myself, and love the things I love without shame. From podcasting, Star Wars has had an unbelievably positive impact on my life.

What else do you Fangirl about?

Oh, boy. I love most “big action” films—and film in general. I love Game of Thrones, Harry Potter, and the like… but nothing has ever grabbed me and never let go like Star Wars did.

Anything else you want to say to others about being a Fangirl?

Never be ashamed of who you are. The more authentically YOU you are, the better… for everyone.

Where can others interact with you?

My podcast is Skytalkers, and it’s an in-depth, 3 part analysis of all things Star Wars. It releases every other Saturday wherever you can get podcasts.  You can also find me at skytalkers.com and @crerrity on all social media.

About pattybones2

I am a self proclaimed fangirl who is disguised as a mild mannered data analyst for an advertising firm.

Leave a Reply

