#AtoZBlogChallenge: Yoko Kanno

#AtoZBlogChallenge Topic: Yoko Kanno

20140429-212037.jpg

I love listening to anime and video games soundtracks and one of my favorite anime and video game soundtrack composers is Yoko Kanno.

A blog article from Abandoned Factory gives a great description of her talents in musical composition:

…Yoko Kanno might be said to have no style. She is truly a master of many styles, from Classical, to Jazz, to Pop and Rock. Perhaps even more amazing than her incredible versatility, is the consistency with which she has produced excellent music.

I first heard her work in the 1980’s strategy role playing game, Romance of the Three Kingdoms, when my brother played it after school every day.

I continued to enjoy her music in some of my favorite anime series including:

20140429-212047.jpg
Cowboy Bebop

20140429-211926.jpg
Macross Plus

20140429-212053.jpg
Ghost In The Shell: Stand Alone Complex

For more on Yoko Kanno and to sample her musical compositions, check out the following:

  • Anime Instrumentality Blog: Composer of The Month article on Yoko Kanno
  • Amazon.com product page
  • iTunes Store product page
  • Barnes & Noble product page
  • YouTube Playlist
  • 20140429-212429.jpg

    Tags: , ,

    About Patty Hammond

    I am a self proclaimed fangirl who is disguised as a mild mannered data analyst for a consulting firm. You can find me on Twitter as @pattybones2 or @Everyday_Fangrl

    Leave a comment