My recent adventure at Great Lakes Comic Expo

Yesterday, my younger sister Sheila and I attended a small local comic event, Great Lakes Comic Expo. This event, which focuses on comics and pop culture that takes place a couple times a year usually at local churches and halls and yesterday’s event cost us a whopping $6 to attend!

  

There were a fair number of tables with comic and merchandise vendors and comic artists. There was also a good mixture of franchises including Star Wars, Star Trek, The Walking Dead and of course The Marvel and DC Universes.

 

Afew of the vendors were selling vintage toys including these Shaun Cassidy and Parker Stevenson figures from the 1970’s. (Personal note: I had a big crush on both of these actors back then and would have loved to own these figures.)

  

However, despite the number of vendors and the diversity of merchandise, we were disappointed in the price and the selection of items available for our family and ourselves.

  
Some of the vendors were selling the most recently released Star Wars merchandise at inflated prices.

  
For example: The recently released Star Wars Rebels Ahsoka and Darth Vader 2 pack, that my husband and I wanted, was being offered on the event floor by a vendor for $35. This is $20 more than it is selling at the local Meijer just down the street from the event. Guess where I bought this two pack at, huh?

  

There were also hourly door prizes given away with a grand prize of a Fantastic Four #48 issue for those that purchased the Early Bird entry fee.

  

There were a few cosplayers in attendance as well including these two adorable fangirls dressed as Batman and Robin in tutu’s!

  

My sister and I only spent a few hours at this event and we only walked away with a few items. However, we had fun looking around and being part of the overall event experience!

Tags:

About Patty Hammond

I am a self proclaimed fangirl who is disguised as a mild mannered data analyst for a consulting firm. You can find me on Twitter as @pattybones2 or @Everyday_Fangrl

Leave a comment