Everyday Fangirl’s Introduction to Sailor Moon


Like most fans of Sailor Moon from the 1990’s, I became acquainted with this series while watching the episodes on Cartoon Network.  However, my introduction was slightly different than many of the fans at that time.

The reason is that the very first episode I saw, Last Resort, takes place late in the first season and not at the beginning.


This episode is not the most ideal place to start this series because after many major events and reveals.  Therefore, after all these years, I wondered what aspects of this story that caught my attention and had me seeking more.

After rewatching the original English dub of this episode that was produced by DiC, I identified some of the aspects that caught my attention back then.

Serena’s interaction with her family showed just how important they were to her despite how they might not get along sometimes.


Just what her relationship with Darien and why did she care so much about this “bad” guy.


The fact that the monster was not controlled by the bad guys and actually acted on it’s own.


Why was the locket so important, especially the tune it played?

So what show or story were you introduced to that was not right at the beginning?

About Patty Hammond

I am a self proclaimed fangirl who is disguised as a mild mannered data analyst for a consulting firm. You can find me on Twitter as @pattybones2 or @Everyday_Fangrl

Leave a comment