Interview with a Fangirl: Corrina Lawson

I am continuing with my series of interviews with Fangirls that I have met through social media!

Today, it is my pleasure to interview author, blogger and, of course, fangirl, Corrina Lawson. I met Corrina through the SFR Brigade, which is a group of Science Fiction Romance Creators/Editors and of course through her articles on GeekMom.com.

Welcome Corrina to The Adventures of The Everyday Fangirl and thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to answer these questions!

When did you begin to realize you were a Fangirl?

It was a long progression for me because when I grew up, being a fangirl was something to be avoided. Boys were the geeks, girls were supposed to not like stuff like comics, SF/F sports, etc. I realized early that I was different but was tagged instead as a “tomboy.”

It wasn’t until I had kids and started to write for GeekDad and then founded GeekMom.com that I realized what a total fangirl I was and owned the “geek” part of me.

How has social media helped or hindered you?

Social media has connected me to everyone in my fiction and non-fiction writing career. The first site I wrote for, Sequentialtart.com, asked me to join the staff because of something I wrote on their forums. (Predictably, it was a rant.) And all my fiction writing friends live far away. Without social media, I’d never have met my first critique partner, all the people in the Romance Writers of America, my writing mentor, Jennifer Crusie, and my current writing friends.

Without social media, I wouldn’t even *have* a career.

That said, there’s an ugly side to social media. I’ve been threatened with physical harm and had plenty of insults tossed my way. I’m generally able to ignore them. Perhaps it’s my reporting background.

When did you first see Star Wars and did you love it right away or did this grow on you over time?

I saw Star Wars first in a theater. Confession: it was the first release and I was 11 at the time. 🙂 I loved it right away but it didn’t have the impact on me that seeing original Star Trek reruns did. Besides, I’d gone to see Star Wars because I was already addicted to SF/F. It increased my love of the genre but didn’t start it.

What have you learned from the Star Wars or other fan community that has had a positive impact on your life?

I’m mostly immersed in the superhero comics community and I’ve met so many great people, from readers to creators, and ended up even moderating Gail Simone’s forums. They’ve been so supportive, especially meeting other women who loved comics like me. I thought I was alone.

What else do you Fangirl about?

Let’s see: Star Trek, Star Wars, Lord of the Rings, Game of Thrones (books), Batman/Gotham comics, Marvel heroes, Sherlock Holmes, any and all writing craft stuff, 1980s songs, Lois Lane, classic movies, Nora Robert’s J.D. Robb In Death series, Wonder Woman, loose tea blends….I get geeky about a lot of stuff.

But you can see the Sherlock Holmes influence in my steampunk, The Curse of the Brimstone Contract, and the X-Men influence in the Phoenix Institute superhero series.

Oh, and the English Plantagenets. I had the Plantagenet Chronicles by Thomas Costain growing up and ended up memorizing the entire English royal line from William I to Elizabeth II. However, my favorite historical figure isn’t one of the kings, it’s William Marshall, Earl of Pembroke, the greatest knight of the Middle Ages. (So fun that I managed to write him into one of my books, Ghost Phoenix.)

And who knows what else I’ve find in the future? Right now, I’m intensely interested in Columbo reruns. I’ve been DVRing them off the Hallmark HD channel and watching. What a master class in mystery writing and Peter Falk is adorable.

Thank you again Corrina for this interview and letting us get to know you better.

***
Corrina Lawson is a former newspaper reporter with a degree in journalism from Boston University. A mom of four, she now works from home writing romance novels with a geeky twist and as the Content Director and co-founder of GeekMom.com. You can connect with her through her articles on GeekMom.com, her website, www.corrina-lawson.com, Facebook Page and of course on Twitter: @CorrinaLawson.
***


Curse of the Brimstone Contract is available on Amazon.com

Tags:

About pattybones2

I am a self proclaimed fangirl who is disguised as a mild mannered data analyst for an advertising firm.

Leave a Reply

