Interview with Author: Cynthia Sax

It is a great pleasure to welcome Cynthia Sax author of Choosing Chuckles.

Welcome Cynthia to The Adventures of the Everyday Fangirl and thanks so much for taking the time out your busy schedule to help us get to know more about you and your stories better!

Patty: What does the title of this novel, series or set of stories signify?

Cynthia Sax:  Chuckles is the name of the cyborg hero of Choosing Chuckles. Cyborgs are assigned a model number when they are manufactured. They give themselves their names. Chuckles is known for being a bit grumpy. His name pokes fun of that. The fact that he has embraced that name tells us he isn’t as bad-tempered as he makes some others believe he is.

Patty: Do the names of the characters in your novel have some sort of significance or importance to you? If so, give a few examples…

Cynthia Sax:  I named the heroine of Choosing Chuckles Bettina as a nod to Simone Micheline Bodin aka Bettina. She was considered to be one of the first supermodels and was best known for her beauty, but she was much more than that. She was a designer, a poet and a composer.

Like the supermodel, Bettina, my heroine, is viewed by some beings as merely a pretty face, but she is much more than that. She designs jewelry (not clothes), has honorable, worthy, secret goals that have nothing to do with her beauty.

Patty: What prompted you to write in this genre and who or what inspired you to?  

Cynthia Sax:  I fell in cyborg romance after reading stories by Laurann Dohner and Eve Langlais. When they both took a break from their awesome series at the same time, I decided to write the stories I was craving to read.

I was most interested in exploring WHY cyborgs, soldiers manufactured to fight, beings programmed to be loyal, would rebel against their makers. My series, both Cyborg Sizzle and, the new one—Cyborg Space Exploration, are, as a result, a bit darker than some other Cyborg Romance series.

Patty: What are the most important attributes to remaining sane as a writer and do your characters reflect some of these attributes?

Cynthia Sax: A sense of humor is necessary in this wonderful business. I think it is also necessary for a happy life and for relationships. Things go wrong. The unexpected happens.

My main characters, yes, even Chuckles, our grumpy cyborg, all have senses of humor. They might not crack jokes all the time but they do tend to laugh and see the irony in the universe.  

Patty: What kind of research did you have to do for the novel, series or set of stories that was different from others?

Cynthia Sax:  One of my favorite sciences is Evolutionary Biology and I tend to weave that into my Cyborg and SciFi Romances. In Choosing Chuckles, our hero and heroine end up stranded on a rainforest type world. It was great fun crafting new alien species based on existing Earth rainforest creatures.

This, however, requires learning quite a bit about these species. I can talk for hours about the Panamanian white-faced capuchin, for example. (laughs) Yes, I’m a fountain of useless information, as my Dear Wonderful Hubby jokes.

Patty: What makes you laugh?

Cynthia Sax: I have a weakness for VERY bad puns. I also love hearing other people laugh. That usually sets me off. My Dear Wonderful Hubby makes me laugh all the time. He is always making jokes.

Patty: What makes you cry?

Cynthia Sax: If someone else is crying, I’ll cry. I also tend to cry while writing the cry scenes in my own stories. A death of a secondary character will almost always make me cry, especially if that character sacrifices her or himself for another being.

Patty: What are you a fan of and is this reflected in your writing?

Cynthia Sax:  I’m a fan of many Cyborg Romance writers (Laurann Dohner and Eve Langlais being two of my earliest favorites). That has definitely influenced my writing as I would never want to write something that didn’t grow the niche or that brought shame to it. I want to leave Cyborg Romance as great as it was when I first discovered it.

Do no harm. (grins) That sounds very Star Trek-like, doesn’t it?

Patty: Is there anything else you want to add about the story, series that has not already been mentioned?

Cynthia Sax:  Choosing Chuckles is the first story in a Cyborg Sizzle spinoff series called Cyborg Space Exploration. I’ve tried to craft this new series so it could be read on its own, with readers knowing nothing about the Cyborg Sizzle world. But I’ve also tried to craft it so Cyborg Sizzle readers will be super happy. That was a challenging balancing act but, with my awesome editor’s help, I think I accomplished it.

Patty: What is the best way for readers to interact with you?

Cynthia Sax: There are many ways for readers to interact with me or find out more about Choosing Chuckles including:

Visiting my Website: http://cynthiasax.com/

Signing up for dirty-joke-filled release day newsletter,   http://tasteofcyn.com/2014/05/28/newsletter/

Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/cynthia.sax

Twitter:  @CynthiaSax

Blog:  http://tasteofcyn.com/

More about Choosing Chuckles and where to Pre-Order…

A Cynical Cyborg Meets A Bad, Bad Female.

Chuckles hates all humans. In the past, humans betrayed him. That treachery caused permanent damage to his muscular form, resulting in a lifespan of pain.

When the primitive D Model cyborg answers a distress call sent by a pink-and-blue haired, sparkly human female, he knows it’s a trap. He still has to respond to her fake cry for help. She belongs to him, is the one being genetically fabricated for him. But he plans to be her captor, not her captive.

Bettina, aka Bait, works with a team of females, snaring sexual predators in space, seizing their ships and transporting them to primitive planets. As soon as she speaks with Chuckles, she knows he’s not like the others. He has honor, is a being worthy of respect, of caring.

But she can’t let him go. She has to trap him. His dominance thrills her. His deep voice evokes desires she’d never experienced in the past. She’ll risk it all, breaking every rule for one wild encounter with the male she calls Sir.

Amazon US: https://www.amazon.com/Choosing-Chuckles-Cyborg-Space-Exploration-ebook/dp/B07MXQ13WS

Amazon UK: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Choosing-Chuckles-Cyborg-Space-Exploration-ebook/dp/B07MXQ13WS

Apple/iTunes: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/choosing-chuckles/id1450000541

B&N: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/choosing-chuckles-cynthia-sax/1130326339

Kobo: https://www.kobo.com/us/en/ebook/choosing-chuckles

Smashwords: https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/918618

About Patty Hammond

I am a self proclaimed fangirl who is disguised as a mild mannered data analyst for a consulting firm. You can find me on Twitter as @pattybones2 or @Everyday_Fangrl

3 responses to “Interview with Author: Cynthia Sax”

  1. cynthiasax says :

    Thank you so much for hosting me today!
    (tackle hugs)

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Taste of Cyn – Interviewed At Everyday Fangirl - March 14, 2019

Leave a comment